Quinoa with Asian Flavors Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This was quite good! Definitely has nice flavour and I didn't change a thing, except to leave out the green onions as I didn't have any! Love quinoa, it's so versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
My family gave this a 5 star!!! I did add some minced carrot for color & texture and reduced the soy to 1 T (I did not have reduced sodium). I also rinsed the Quinoa as suggested. My boys loved it so much that they asked to take some along with my Asian pork to school for lunch tomorrow!! This is a definate keeper - Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I omitted the oil, and used water instead of broth. I cooked the quinoa right in the soy sauce, ginger and garlic water. This is a little too salty, so maybe I will try a low sodium soy sauce next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
very good! I used low sodium broth (think it would be much to salty otherwise), added finely chopped bell pepper, and followed others advice using extra ginger.... I might not do the extra ginger next time, but overall a success! My husband, who was skeptical about this "new thing" called Quinoa, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Awesome. I'm new to this quinoa, so I've been experimenting with different ways to cook it. Never thought of this! This recipe's definitely a keeper. I added the carrots, celery, snap peas, as well as some cilantro at the end. Oh, and yes, the cooking time in the recipe is about 10 minutes too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was my first time trying Quinoa. I followed some of the other suggestions and added carrots, celery, peas, onions, and green onions that I cooked separately and added to the quinoa in the last 5 minutes. I also reduced the soy sauce even though I was using low salt soy sauce. Everyone loved it. I made it along with the slow cooker Mongolian Beef from this web site. That was also good. I messed up and added a little too much fresh ginger in it but still liked it. I steamed some fresh sugar snap peas to round out the meal. I will be making both recipes again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillyb831

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I wish I had made more because my family ate it and were looking for seconds. I was shocked because my kids usually complain when I make Asian dishes for dinner. I added chopped broccoli and carrots for added nutrition, texture, and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Just made this for lunch and it was awesome. I reduced the soy sauce to 1 TB and increased the garlic and ginger (1 small bulb, or about a dozen cloves and 1/4 minced fresh ginger). I think that the cooking time directed may be too long. My quinoa seemed done about 10 minutes sooner than described in the recipe. Over cooking quinoa ruins the texture. It becomes mushy and loses the mild crunchiness it has when cooked until the spirals start showing on the kernels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
It was ok... This was my first experience with quinoa so I don't know how much of it is just my personal taste preference or the actual recipe itself. It had a weird textural feel to it that I didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is excellent! We added peas, onions, broccoli, carrots, mushrooms and cashews to it. I stir fried them alone and then added them to the quinoa during the last 5 minutes. It tasted just like fried rice but it was healthy! I highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Pork Fried Quinoa

Watch Chef John put a modern, healthy twist on pork-fried rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States