Quinoa and Lentil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was tasty but a bit bland for our taste. I will make it again but add more things that will add more flavor - but no doubt add more fat and/or sodium. Next time will add more veggies and possibly feta cheese or sliced green or black olives (big sodium hit, no doubt). The cucumber doesn't add much flavor so likely won't increase that but possibly more green onion and maybe try different herbs. This was my first taste of quinoa so wasn't sure what to expect other than knowing how good it is for you. It has a very light texture once cooked and nutty flavor. I was sold when I learned it can be cooked in a rice cooker (1 part quinoa to 2 parts water), which is how I cooked it for this recipe. Thanks zoeDisco for introducing me to quinoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Nice flavor. Pretty bland. I was the only one who ate it in our family, but I did enjoy it, and would make it again for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
As written, only 2 stars. But one tiny change takes it to 3: use chicken broth instead of water for both the quinoa and lentils. Makes a world of difference in flavor. This is a fantastic base recipe that you can tailor to fit your tastes, bringing it up to 4 stars with little effort. I chose to use balsamic instead of rice vinegar and upped the quantity a tad, and added a little garlic powder, onion powder, red pepper and cheese. Great way to use up leftover veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I have made this 2 times. The first time I made the recipe I doubled the dressing and it was good. The second time I quadrupled the dressing and it was great! Had much more flavor, while still not being soaked in dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
umm, yum! I loved it with no changes, but it's one of those recipes that you can totally add more/less/something else of. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Am I the only one who has noticed the list of ingredients staes 3 cups water for the quinoa , and the directions state 6 cups water with the quinoa , since you are supposed to cook until all the water is absorbed then this factor should be critical... which is is3 or 6 cups water?? Please correct recipe! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
According to my quinoa package, the proportions are 2 to 1, like rice, but I only made one cup of quinoa with 2 cups of water, and it was plenty. I like the dressing very much, but I used white wine vinegar instead of rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
The photo is a huge deterrent, looks like a gluey mess! But I persevered for my vegetarian daughter, as lentils are a great source of iron,, and I like the idea of combining lentils and quinoa. The recipe also needed to be edited as the 6 cup water amount is incorrect. I cooked the lentils and quinoa in veggie broth which adds a nice subtle flavour. The dressing is mild and fresh and others who prefer something with a little kick can play around with ingredients/herbs and spices they enjoy. Thanks for the good idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Well I just made this. Flavor is OK, my lentils went mushy (guess over cooked and first time for lentils) and I find it to be a wet mushy goo! I will eat it as not to waste good food but not sure I'd make it again?? I did not change anything, made as recipe states
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I doubled the lentils and the seasonings. We eat it as Lettuce wraps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States