Quinoa and Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I have never tried quinoa before and I thought I would give this a try for me and my boyfriend. I didn't have any beans so skipped that part, and instead of using broth I used 2 cubes of chicken bullion and skipped the salt. We both LOVED it! It was flavorful and delicious, I just love the way some of the quinoa pearls pop in your mouth. We will defiantly be using this as a healthy alternative to rice and heavier meat dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Axeman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
The only can of black beans I had was a can of Bush's Black Bean Fiesta. They gave this side dish a nice little southwestern flavor! A great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I tried this recipe for dinner tonight. I did tweak it a little, I left out the cayenne due to a 5 yr old, the only other tweak I would make is increase the amount of quinoa. I'd like more quinoa in relation to the amount of beans, other than that I thought the flavor was great. Definitely will make it again with my tweaks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Fabulous...used flat leaf parsley instead of cilantro yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Delicious! Great recipe. I made a batch for my co-workers to taste and they loved it! While it's best to rinse all grains before cooking, pre-washing is especially advisable for quinoa in order to remove the bitter white coating on its outer hull that sometimes remains after processing. To do so, simply run cold water over quinoa in fine-meshed strainer, gently rubbing the seeds with your fingers. (Avoid soaking quinoa, however, as the bitter coating can leach into the grain.) After rinsing, place one cup of quinoa and two cups of water in a covered pot and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for about 15 – 20 minutes, until the grains become translucent and the germ appears as a thin white ring around each grain. Fluff with a fork. I usually cook extra quinoa and keep in the refrigerator for up to one week. Just scoop out what you need for each recipe. It's delicious cold, hot, in soups, wrap sandwiches, etc. Quinoa has the highest protein content of any grain. It contains all nine essential amino acids, making it a complete protein. With that in mind, it makes a good substitute for meat and is a less expensive, healthier choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I used 1 cup of quinoa, 1 can of broth, and white wine to finish up the 2 cups of liquid. I also added 1 can of diced tomatoes, and 1 can of diced chicken. This is very similar to the CBW Power Bowl so next time I am going to add some Romaine and make the jalapeño cilantro sauce to put on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Added Chorizo sausage and it's like I'm back home in Lima!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Excellent flavor and satisfying as a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Yes! Great recipe! I added some orange and red sweet peppers. It's excellent hot or cold in my opinion! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MachinaFlood4
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Delicious! I opted out of the cayenne pepper and cumin and used a pinch of chili powder instead. Also I added some sweet peppers to it and regular greens in substitute for cilantro because I'm no fan of it. Amazing! Going to be a regular for me now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 2,966) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States