Quinoa and Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is absolutely one of the best recipes I've tried so far with quinoa! Very flavorful, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Cooked this the other day. Like others, I added some color: Red peppers while cooking and tomatoes at the end. I also used less beans because I cooked them from dried (so it was only about half or 16 oz). I also used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. It was so good and tasty, even two picky kids appreciated it. Rave reviews from entire family, and left overs are super tasty three days later. Just the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Humm yummy yummy, I made this whith pearl onins and broccoli, canellini beans some, red peppers fresh thyme. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gbv239
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
a little bland, i would add more spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Yummy! I took an excellent recipe (thanks 3LIONCUBS) and bent it to my needs. After softening the onions, I added the spices to toast, adding an extra 1/2 tsp of cumin since I'm a fan. I then added 1lb of very lean ground beef. Once browned, I added the rinsed (and patted dry) quinoa to the skilled to toast. Due to the extra volume and since I don't like my quinoa too crunchy, I added 1 1/2 cups of beef broth and 1/2 cups of water. I exchanged 1 can of pinto beans for 1 of the cans of black beans since that is what I has on hand. A very delicious dinner! Next time I may add 2 tsp of cumin and use cooked chicken. This is such a simple recipe with so much potential for change. It has been added to my monthly rotation, a high honor indeed considering the sheer number of highly rated recipes at Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanmar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Globe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Coolidge, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Liked the Quinoa and Black Beans however it needs to be spiced up a bit. I used chicken broth instead of the vegetable and added greek black olives and crushed red peppers. Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SherryJ
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I love this. I have made it several times and it is so....good. I do not use vegetable broth but use chicken instead. I did not care for the cilantro so I skipped that. I have had this plain as a salad but have also made a tortilla with it. I, then put salsa on it. Sometimes sour cream, sometimes not. Very healthy, very good, very easy and I give it 5 stars. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Willard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I love this dish! I read the reviews to get some tips. This is what I did differently.... I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil; and, I cut the black beans down to 1 can. I then added 1/2 c. Salsa to it. I've made this using either chicken broth or vegetable broth - it's great either way. I've also used canned corn instead of frozen - that works well too. When it's done, I've sqeezed some fresh lemon or lime juice on top to add to the flavor. TIP: The dish is great fresh but it's even better once it's had a chance to sit for a while. The flavors marry together and mix well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Absolutely amazing for the first time preparing quinoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This is an excellent and healthy recipe! I added a bit of flavour by sauté onion and garlic in the pan first as well as added in some red and yellow peppers! I make a double batch and take it for a nice and easy lunch every day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 3,056) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States