Quinoa and Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I've been vegan for about 6 years now, and I have to admit, I find a lot of recipes overwhelming. Yet me being the novice I am was intrigued by the substitution of quinoa in place of rice, (and the simplicity of prep) so I decided to get my toes a tad bit wet and go for it. And MY GOODNESS, not only does this recipe take little to no time to prepare but, it's sooo hearty and delicious....what have I been missing out on all of this time?!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I only used 1 can of black beans which was just right. Two cans was way too much. I don't like cumin or cayenne pepper or cilantro so it seemed tasteless to me and a little dry. I added some tomato juice and trocomare which is natural sea salt infused with organic fresh herbs and vegetables. It tasted much better but still not one of my favorties even though I love quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Travon Janay
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I love it! I opted out off canned beans and frozen corn though. I used all fresh produce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Loved this. Was new to quinoa and so A little nervous. Make sure to rinse it as stated in previous reviews but turns out amazing. Great on a vegan diet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Made as directed except I did not have broth so I used 1 1/2 cup water with 2 bouillon cubes dissolved. When I first taste tested the quinoa for doneness, I was worried because it was extremely salty!! That's something you can't fix! I proceeded on with the recipe, and had to add a little more water as the quinoa was not as tender as I'd have liked. Once all the ingredients were added and simmered, it tasted fine, however, if I need to make that substitution again, I would only use 1 bouillon cube! Also, it makes alot, I reheated some in the microwave 2 nights later to go with our dinner, and it tasted even better! One of those dishes that gets better after it sits a day or so! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aide
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Very delicious! Vegan friendly. Easy & very satisfying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This recipe has been a staple in our house since discovering it a couple months ago! I double the recipe so we have leftovers. I use 1 can Pinto and 1 can Black beans, just so it's not so many black beans. I also add 1 chopped zucchini to the recipe and shredded chicken. It is great in a bowl or in a tortilla for a burrito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Excellent recipe. I made only minor changes and it turned out great. Used chicken broth as it was on the shelf. I substituted a seeded and devained jalapeno for the cayenne pepper, added a little salsa and some sliced black olives. YUM. Especially good topped with sour cream. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buzz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I liked this - but maybe not as much as some. I could do away with the cilantro and think it would be better. I even did about 1/4 c. of cilantro - still too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This recipe is fantastic AS IS. I made no tweaks at all and it tasted delicious. It was seasoned perfectly and the textures are great together. This is definitely getting added to my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States