Quinoa and Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
So tasty! I added a chopped orange pepper and a can of diced tomatoes (upped the quinoa a couple of tablespoons for the extra tomato juice). I did use two cans of black beans. Served it with avocado and sour cream on corn tortillas. Really, really good, and made great leftovers. My husband and our 1 1/2 year old liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
Quick, easy and delicious! What more can I say?! I made it for a small get together and everyone loved it. I used chicken stock as that's what I had on hand, otherwise followed as is. I would add more cayenne and cilantro next time.... I like it hot and love cilantro with beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
I love it as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Doel Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
I agree about reducing to one can of beans. Canned black beans must be drained and rinsed in a colander before adding to anything (except soup) because it adds a purplish stain. Aduki beans would be a good substitute, add a pretty red color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
Delicious! I did add diced green peppers and a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies. My husband are three helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
I have just made this, and it is just delicious! Unfortunately, quinoa is not readily available in all shops here, but someone mentioned that Bulgar Wheat could also be used, which I found, and also used for the very first time. I have never seen black beans locally, so added 1 tin of red kidney beans and 1 tin of black eyed beans. Otherwise did exactly as instructed. I will be making this again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thea Bothma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cindy.c
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
It was my first time ever making quinoa and this recipe totally rocked! Will definitely make again! I did follow a few of the reviewers' advice and washed my quinoa before cooking. Afraid of turning my quinoa into mush, I cooked it separately and then carefully folded in the veggie mixture afterwards. Instead of using frozen or canned corn, I grilled fresh corn and cut them off the cobb. Also I only used one can of beans as two would have been overkill. I did not have cayenne pepper nor was it available at my grocery so I used a bit of sriracha instead. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
I used fresh parsley and basil and added small can diced tomatoes with chili peppers......fantastic....my wife has asked for repeat performance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Pepper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
I used garbanzo beans instead because that's what I had. Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
First time ever having quinoa. This recipe is very good. I agree with others, 1 can of black beans is plenty! I would use less cayenne pepper, a little to hot for me. I will be making this again and again. Fast and super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States