Quinoa and Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
This recipe will become my new staple. You can add or alter any ingredient here and it just works. I didm;t have two cans of black beans so I used one can black beans and a can of garbonzo beans. I also added some Moroccan Spice Mix (McCormack). Next time I will try adding white raisins!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MegaFitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I had to use frozen peas because I didn't realize I ran out of corn. I think the black beans needed to be cooked a bit. I could have gotten away with using 1 can of black beans instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
The whole family loved this. I used chicken broth in lieu of veggie broth. I think it would make a nice burrito filling with some cheese or sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I just can't even... I mean seriously... THIS. IS. FANTASTIC!!! I've tried umpteen amounts of quinoa recipes to try & incorporate healthier foods and NONE have come CLOSE to tasting this great. I added a bit more cayenne since Hubby & I like spicy. It didn't take away from the flavor at all. Hubby also used all my lime so that wasn't added and even without - very tasty and delicious. Testament to the flavor is Hubby is eating it right out the pan, hasn't waited for me to plate it! PLEASE - if you've never made quinoa - RINSE IT BEFORE COOKING. Great recipe as is that will be made again & again. I can't wait to try it with avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I generally don't like quinoa, but this salad is great! I like to add it to a green salad, a few tortilla chips and some salsa and have a "taco salad".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Really flavorful and filling! I have served this as the main dish many times. It's loaded with protein and has a good kick to it! As many reviewers suggested I only put in 1 can of black beans. I also leave out the cilantro but that's just to make it even simpler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I just made this recipe with a few variations. Instead of cilantro, I chopped a small jalapeno in with the onions and garlic with no seeds. Instead of the frozen corn I added a frozen soup vegetable mix. The finished product was yummy! I found a flour tortilla and added the quinoa mix to it with a slice of pepper jack cheese and several chunks of fresh pineapple. Rolled it up into a burrito and added some hot sauce. WOW! That really sent this dinner over the top! Try it! Another variation is to use a Romane leaf like the tortilla. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Pack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
This was incredible! The only things I did differently was make the quinoa separately using low sodium chicken broth instead of water , and a little hot sauce in place of the cayanne pepper. Its delicious, easy, and budget friendly. Will absolutely make this again and again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I found this too bland. made as written and didn't like it so added tomato sauce..liked it.. healthy but definitely needed modifications
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Mackay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Nice substitute for the usual refried bean side dish when serving carne asada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States