Quinoa and Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I love quinoa recipes! It has a ton of protein, so it really is healthy. I, too, rinsed the quinoa and used one can of beans, added yellow and orange bell pepper and chopped tomato for added nutrition and color, and I also added a bit of powdered adobo seasoning for a bit of smoky flavor. You could also use a teaspoon of canned adobo sauce. But I found that what it really lacked was that pop of acid. A healthy squeeze of lime juice on the finished dish really helped take it to the next level. I freeze my quinoa dishes in 1 cup servings in ziplock freezer bags laid flat. You can grab a frozen bag, smack it on the counter to break it up and zap it in the micro for a quick meal. Throw in any diced or shredded meat you wish, if you are a carnivore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Delicious combination! I've always struggled to eat quinoa but this is amazing! Topped with a bit of salsa and tons of avocado! Satisfies my love of Mexican food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Great recipe and so healthy. Definitely a keeper. I did change the beans though since I prefer the taste of white beans and they have more potassium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I had no vegetable broth so I made this with water and it was totally fine. It was a huge hit. I put the leftovers in a tortilla with salsa and cheese and they raved about that too. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
A healthy, delicious way to use pantry (and freezer) staples and dinner is ready in a flash. Next time I will add red peppers to saute with the onions and garlic - and there WILL BE a next time! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This has quickly become one of our favorite dinners. Quick, delicious and healthy. I use olive oil instead of vegetable oil, a bit more garlic...4-5 cloves. And we've experimented with different broths, vegetable, chicken, turkey and beef. All work fine. Love, love, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
OMG sooooooooo good!!!! This is my second time eating Quinoa and the 1st time was a disaster. Since this had such raving reviews decided to give it a go. I took others suggestions and washed Quinoa before cooking, used chicken stock (since I didn't have any veg stock), used 1 can of black bean (definitely more than enough), and used 1 can of corn (since I didn't have frozen corn). SUPER good!!!! I hope my toddler and my hubby will like it too. If not, oh well more for me :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Absolutely my favorite quinoa dish...DELICIOUS. I followed recipe except only did one can of black beans. I think two cans would have been way too much. This dish had tons of flavor. We had left overs and it was even good cold. If you think you don't like quinoa I urge you to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Really good. I took the suggestion of just adding one can of beans instead of two and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I'm not quite sure what I did right, but mine turned out pretty watery. It had really good flavor...but texture-wise, it was pretty odd. I made it for just myself...but I'm not sure that I would've wanted to serve it had I had any guests. I may try it again if I feel like playing around with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 2,966) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States