Quinoa and Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
We gobbled this up! We did omit the cayenne pepper, however, to make it more kid-friendly and it worked. The kids loved it -- so much so that I really think this belongs in the kid-friendly section as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This was great. My kids loved it. Wasn't really sure how to serve to a 4yo and 10yo, so we made tacos out it!. Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This is amazing! I love quinoa and this is such an awesome recipe! I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Also used chili powder instead of cumin(didn't have any in hand). Added Creole seasoning for taste instead of salt and pepper. I didn't rinse/drain the beans, I just dumped the whole can in, cooked for another five minutes and put in the oven for another 10 minutes. It turned out delicious, taking some to work tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
My family of picky eaters enjoyed it very much. We put ours on tortillas and added a squirt of fresh lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fernande seide
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I just wanted to let everyone know this was the first time I've heard of quinoa. After watching the video and rereading most of the reviews for a week, I finally made this dish. I added Garlic powder like some of the other reviewers. I was planning on using only one can of beans but decided at the last min to add the second can, I'm sure glad I did. My meal came out perfect , the cilantro was a nice touch. I paired the meal with chicken breast. I will b making this awesome dish again, especially Because of the all healthy benefit of quinoa. I finally found my substitute for rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Liked this a lot. I added more cumin (1/2 T) and cayenne (1/2 tsp) and probably could have used more. I thought the 2 cans of black beans were just right. Most people think of veggies as being the "small" part of their meal, but it really should be the major part; the grain should be less. Corn is a grain too, so it's best to add the second can of beans for a well-rounded healthy meal. I think 15 min prep time is not correct. Preparing the cilantro (plucking from stems, washing, drying and chopping) took 15 minutes! Worth it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Delish. Even my quinoa-hating husband had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This is a hit in our house but I do make some minor changes. I use olive oil instead of vegetable oil,chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and only one can of black beans. As written it was good and my kids and husband loved it. I could of used more spice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Love this recipe with a few adjustments. I use chicken broth instead of veg. broth. Reduce black beans to 1 can. Reduce corn to 1/2 cup. Increase cumin to 2 tsp. and reduce cayenne to 1/8 tsp. Fresh cilantro is the key and add grilled chicken and avocado to make is a meal;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Seems to taste better cold the day after...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 3,152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States