Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
As a vegetarian I was looking for a chili recipe with quinoa. I was excited to try this recipe given all the rave reviews but I ended up being disappointed with it. The dish came out very thick, almost like a quinoa pilaf with lots of other things missed in, rather than a chili. I like my chili a little bit soupy but this was not, even after adding an additional 15-oz can of tomatoes! The quinoa soaked up any available liquid. If I were to make this again I would cut down dramatically on the amount of quinoa so that it would be an ingredient in the recipe but not the main focus of the dish. Also, even though I followed the recipe it turned out surprisingly bland to me. I had to add salt at the table to give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Yum! Even better with avocado as a garnish. Didn't change a thing except I cooked the quinoa in vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This was great! I cooked the quinoa in chicken broth, didn't have zucchini, otherwise kept everything the same...served it with grated cheese and a little sour cream, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
My adult son just finished his second bowl and is going back for thirds! I cut some avocado slices to go on top of the chili. This is a GREAT vegan dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This recipe came together quickly as I had some leftover quinoa in the fridge already! Delicious, fast, and hearty. I added a combo of red kidney beans and garbanzos as well as black beans (1 cup total) as well as a little salt and pepper. Boosted the chili flavor with an additional teaspoon of cumin and chili powder. Didn't have any jalapeno or chipotle peppers but that was fine with me as I am a wimp and don't like my chili very spicy. I imagine this recipe would be even better with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
OH MY GOD THIS IS SOOOO GOOD. OMG. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansasville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Absolutely outstanding! So flavorful and healthy. I will be making this recipe for years to come. Does require a fair amount of prep time, but well worth every minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This recipe is excellent! I have made it a few times and have my version dialed in perfectly. I use low sodium/low fat beef broth instead of water to make the quinoa, I add an extra can of fire roasted tomatoes, little extra garlic and I double the chipotle/adobo amount to 2 tablespoons. Huge hit in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I've been on this site a long time, but never reviewed anything before. This was the best chili I've ever made!! So filling, gluten free, and it tastes great! A little bit of strong cheddar and fresh avocado make a great garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Loved it. I added lime as a garnish. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States