Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
We really liked this. I had to add quite a bit more liquid (I used veggie stock) as it was way too thick to simmer, but I really enjoyed the flavor. I did use more than 1T of the chipotle in adobe sauce, more like 1/2 of the small can, but we like spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
My husband and I love this recipe. We've made it 3 times so far. I use a food processor to speed up all the chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I wasn't that impressed with this recipe. It wasn't a hearty chili like I was expecting. It turned out a bit spicy and I think there was a too much quinoa. If I make this again, I will probably make some changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MemeCa416

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This is my new favorite chili! The quinoa is great. We make it in the rice cooker before adding it to the chili. Couldn't be easier. I love the added protein for my veggie kids. One thing we noticed (we've made this twice) was that the zucchini gives this a strange feeling when it's in chunks. Diced wasn't small enough, so the second time we shredded it. This was perfect. I could eat this every week. Of course, we do serve it with a little sour cream and a sprinkle of cheese. Probably kills the calorie count, but it's sooo good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Amazing! This recipe is a keeper. I will certainly make it again. This time I did not add chipotle peppers or corn. The recipe does yield a lot of food - I took it to a pot luck so that was great. Everyone (including the meat eaters) really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made this last night on the fly because I didn't put any meat out to thaw. I had all the ingredients in pantry which is always a bonus. I don't keep crushed tomatoes but used petite diced instead. I also only used red pepper because green doesn't like me. This came together very easily. I did have to add about a cup of water to get the consistency I like. I also did not put the quinoa into the chili instead I put it in the bottom of the bowl and ladled the chili on top. This made a HUGE amount of food which surprised me. Super economical to make. It was very filling too. The taste was spot on and the chipotle added a really nice smokey flavor to the dish. The chipotle are spicy and I found I didn't need to add hot sauce to the dish which rarely happens. Thanks for sharing such a great dish. I will make this again for sure. It exceeded my expectations and we did not miss the meat one bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was an excellent veggie chili recipe! I cooked the quinoa in veg broth and added a cup or two to the chili to thin it out. I also left out the zucchini, as I do not care for it, and substituted diced green chilis for the chipotle pepper since that's what I had available. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was absolutely amazing. It had the perfect amount of spice, and was really flavorful. Out of personal preference, I took out the zucchini and added carrots instead. I also added an extra can of tomato soup and a bit of water as it was really thick. Came to a perfect consistency. Will definitely be making this again in the future, thanks for an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I decided to make this just from what I had in my pantry, so that said... it differs a bit from the original, but turned out really, really good! I also cooked my quinoa in vegetable broth rather than water, for extra flavor. I added 1/2 t smoked paprika to the spices. I cut back the chili powder & cumin to approx. 1/2 T each, as it seemed like it would be too much. I used the diced tomatoes that have green chilies in them and just 14 oz (all I had on hand). I supplemented the rest of the tomato with about 16 oz of vegetable (V8) juice. I used 1 can kidney and 1 can black beans. I had no green bell pepper, so only used red. Had no zucchini on hand, so left it out. Had no jalapeno or peppers in adobe sauce on hand, but did have a jar of medium heat salsa verde, so put in about 1/2 cup of that to get some spice. We topped ours with sour cream and cheddar cheese... Considering I did this completely with what I had on hand, it turned out great and the recipe gave me the inspiration to make a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Really great tasting and healthy recipe. I didn't have fresh jalapeno so I chopped up some canned sliced ones which I think reduced the heat a bit but was still tasty. Topped it with some shredded cheeses and served with tortilla chips. My fiance didn't even realize there was no meat in it until I told him after he polished off his second bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States