Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Very interesting dish. I wasn't sure I was going to like it but wanted an alternative to meaty chili so gave the recipe a try. I followed the directions as stated but added a pinch of cayenne pepper and used the original Rotel crushed tomatoes. What an incredible flavorful dish...it's very tasty and very spicy...definitely a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
It's a great healthy recipe but too spicy for me and just not the texture I like in a chili. It sort of defeats the purpose of making a healthy recipe if I have to cover it in sour cream to be able to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
With my recent quinoa obsession, I decided to try this recipe and fully expected my "chili must have meat" husband to just tolerate it. He actually really liked it, and the rest of us loved it. I left out the bell peppers and the jalapeno pepper and used a little more chipotle. Also threw in about a TBS of the adobo sauce. With 3 grown men and myself eating, the recipe was more like 6-7 servings. Served it with sharp cheddar, sour cream, and avocado. Super yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Love this! Easy to make I added a little bit more garlic than the recipe said, and also added some chipolte garlic hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This recipe has lots of tasty veggies and is healthy. I think it could use a little bit more chili powder or chipotle pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda from MA CT NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
5 stars for something so healthy that tastes so good! Only change I made was to sub a quart of homemade tomato sauce instead of the can of crushed toms. I was leery of the zucchini but couldn't even tell it was in there. None of my boys noticed the meat missing, I could. Texture is different that usual chilli but it didn't taste that different. Was too spicy for one of my boys and I think that came from the chipotle and jalapeno. Next time I will leave out the jalapeno and use less chipotle. Like others who reviewed this,I would usually cook quinoa in broth. With all the flavour going on in this chilli, cooking the quinoa in water is fine. Save yourself the sodium intake. This is a must try if you are looking for a meatless dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
For the most part, I fallowed the recipe & it turned out EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Awesome! Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I left out the chipotle, replaced tomatoes with chili tomatoes, cut down the chili powder to two tsp., and the cumin to 1 tsp. I didn't want it too spicy for the kids. It went over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Excellent flavors and very simple. Super healthy to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States