Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Excellent! Made this recipe for a vegetarian option for a birthday party (we had meat chili too). Everyone loved it. I used the chicken stock to prepare the quinoa as someone had recommended. I also used fire roasted diced tomatoes, and added some fresh tomatillos from the garden with the zucchini and used green onions rather than regular. Finally, i used an extra poblano chili seeded and diced! Great recipe, very filling and good for leftovers too. Really easy if you do all of your chopping ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This recipe was delicious and filling - my husband and I both loved it! Made a couple of changes based on what I had available in my kitchen - I only had 1 can of black beans, so I added a can of kidney beans as well. Yellow pepper instead of red, and I didn't have zucchini, jalapeño, chipotle OR oregano so I added in one 4 oz can of green chilies and I felt like the flavor was good (especially since I prefer a less spicy chili). Also, had canned corn instead of frozen on hand. I feel like this is a fairly flexible recipe - using what I had it still turned out very yummy! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This was very good; I did add a can of fire roasted tomatoes to the crushed tomatoes because there wasn't enough liquid for the veggies I had in there. I also then added a small can of diced tomatoes (I like a chunkier sauce). Left out the jalapeno - don't really like them & I don't like things TOO spicy. That said, I ended up putting in too many chipotle peppers in the adobo sauce - that made it MUCH too spicy - fortunately I had put in LESS cumin & oregano than it called for. No one else in my family will eat, but I still like it - although too spicy, it's VERY good - I'll make it again though, keeping in mind not to overdo the chipotles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Awesome. Followed recipe as written, served with a little light sour cream. Perfectly balanced spice and heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This is such a great recipe. So good! Even my husband said it was the best chilli he's ever had. I didn't feel like going to the store so I had to make a few subsitutions. I didn't have caned tomatoes so I used a couple fresh ones and (ha) a 1/4 cup of jarred pasta sauce to give it that tomatoey texture. I also used one can pinto and one can black beans. No bell peppers or chipotle but plenty of Jalapenos and Zucchini. Few squezes of lime! Such a great recipe, even with all the subsitutions it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This dish is delicious! My family of 6 are trying to limit our meat intake to once or twice a week. With dishes like this, it won't be a problem at all. I didn't tell my picky eaters (hubby and four kids) what it was until after and they didn't even realize it was meatless chili. The Quinoa in the dish really takes the the place of beef. I made the recipe with a few changes: used veggie broth to cook the quinoa, omitted the jalepeno peppers and only used 1/2 of the chipotle pepper. I also added some chicken broth after I put the quinoa in to loosen it up a bit. It is really thick as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I rate this four stars because while it's good as is, there's something missing. I played with it and feel these changes improve the outcome. When you're putting in the tomatoes etc. add the following: 1 tbsp cocoa (I know it sounds weird but it's really good in chili and you won't think it's chocolatey---it just adds some depth and body to the flavor); 1 1/2 tsps liquid smoke (this made a very big difference, highly recommend using); 1 tsp white sugar; 1 tsp brown sugar; 1/4 tsp cayenne; 2 tsps coriander. I also use just under 1 tsp salt and about 1/4 tsp black pepper. A great, healthy meal that goes a long way and costs little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Excellent recipe! This was the first time I ever made chili and what a success. I use to buy the canned chili which doesn't even come close to this one. I ended up using kidney beans instead of black beans but I am sure using black beans is just as good. This is a recipe I will continue to make. Thank you for sharing. All the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
very good. next time I would put a little less tomato and a little more beans. Still, it is very good. The flavors blend very nicely. It's a good Fall/Winter meal. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
EXCELLENT!!! I hardly ever review recipes that I try, but this recipe is FANTASTIC, I will definitely be making this for years to come. I did make some changes- I didn't use zucchini (i like zucchini, but just wasn't in the mood). I used green, red, and orange peppers. Plus the corn helped make the chili very colorful. Instead of pre-cooking the quinoa, I simply placed all of the ingredients into a crockpot. Because quinoa really takes on the flavor well, it worked out nice. It took about 3-4 hours on high, but you could turn it to low once it gets going.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States