Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Ok ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
If I could I would rate it 4.5 stars but it doesn't seem fair to downgrade the recipe. It's a great base to customizing your own chili. I loved the inclusion of the quinoa. It made it so hearty. My only suggestion would be to sauté the peppers with the onion. One reviewer said she liked the crunchy but that is not my thing so I softened them up before adding the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Delicious. My husband thought it a bit spicy and that's with the jalapeno left out. :) My cilantro was bad so I couldn't use it but will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This is our favorite chili recipe! My husband needs a high-fiber diet so this meal fits the boot. Makes us about 6 servings. We usually serve it with sour cream if that's all we're eating, but usually when we have it as leftovers we put it in our tacos & it's fabulous. I've made it about 5 times, and the last time I didn't have zucchini so I used a cucumber instead & we liked it even better. Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashtinrae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This was outstanding! I omitted the zucchini and added an extra bell pepper. It was very substantial! It yielded a ton and probably could feed a crowd! Tremendous flavor, straightforward, one of the best chili recipes yet! This was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this for the first time with the intention to make something healthy AND that my boyfriend would like and this was a hit. I read a lot of the reviews and this is what I ended up doing: 1. Clean quinoa thoroughly, draining it till water ran clear, which took a few minutes. 2. Soaked it while cutting veggies 3. Cut whole onion, a bunch of cilantro (more than a cup cus we love the stuff), cut two whole tomatoes and seasoned two can of black beans with a little adobo - All while sautéing the onions till they got brown. 4. Added garlic after onions were brown for a few mins then added the quinoa and seasoned. 5. Added chicken broth and simmered. 6. Added a little more cilantro and cayenne pepper then added frozen sweet corn (which was thawing while I was cutting veggies) after 18 mins of quinoa cooking for five more mins7. Added two cups of beans (which I really liked and it was a great balance - I read a lot of people used only one can) 8. Simmer for five more mins and served it with Korean flavored BBQ chicken on top of tortilla with kale and American cheese (sort of like a burrito). Yummmeeeee. We have leftovers for days but I'm looking forward To it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I am a very picky eater but loved this! It will definitely be added to my monthly meal planning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Great healthy recipe! If you can find fire-roasted tomatoes they work really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
A yummy soup with the healthy vegetables for nutrients, quinoa for protein and bulk, and beans for fiber and protein. I like that there is no meat, and of course one could choose to add meat if they wanted. I added a small bit of sour cream to my serving and crumbled up tortilla chips on top. A winner in my book. The flavors are subtle, which is how I like it. You can add heat with extra peppers or ground cayenne pepper, tabasco, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Conansgirl1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States