Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this for the first time with the intention to make something healthy AND that my boyfriend would like and this was a hit. I read a lot of the reviews and this is what I ended up doing: 1. Clean quinoa thoroughly, draining it till water ran clear, which took a few minutes. 2. Soaked it while cutting veggies 3. Cut whole onion, a bunch of cilantro (more than a cup cus we love the stuff), cut two whole tomatoes and seasoned two can of black beans with a little adobo - All while sautéing the onions till they got brown. 4. Added garlic after onions were brown for a few mins then added the quinoa and seasoned. 5. Added chicken broth and simmered. 6. Added a little more cilantro and cayenne pepper then added frozen sweet corn (which was thawing while I was cutting veggies) after 18 mins of quinoa cooking for five more mins7. Added two cups of beans (which I really liked and it was a great balance - I read a lot of people used only one can) 8. Simmer for five more mins and served it with Korean flavored BBQ chicken on top of tortilla with kale and American cheese (sort of like a burrito). Yummmeeeee. We have leftovers for days but I'm looking forward To it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I am a very picky eater but loved this! It will definitely be added to my monthly meal planning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Great healthy recipe! If you can find fire-roasted tomatoes they work really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
A yummy soup with the healthy vegetables for nutrients, quinoa for protein and bulk, and beans for fiber and protein. I like that there is no meat, and of course one could choose to add meat if they wanted. I added a small bit of sour cream to my serving and crumbled up tortilla chips on top. A winner in my book. The flavors are subtle, which is how I like it. You can add heat with extra peppers or ground cayenne pepper, tabasco, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Conansgirl1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Fantastic Recipe! Tons of flavor; very healthy and filling, and not salty at all. I'm not a vegetarian, but I don't miss the meat at all. I really like all of the veggies here; and this is a great way to introduce quinoa to those who don't particularly care for the flavor when served plain. My husband really doesn't like quinoa, but he didn't mind it in here at all! This is very thick and hearty, and makes plenty of leftovers! I saved some for the next day, and froze the rest. Highly recommend--give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Delicious! I threw everything in a slow cooker (omitting the oil), including uncooked quinoa (make sure to rinse quinoa if not pre-rinsed). I used 2 cups of chicken stock rather than water and canned corn rather than frozen. Cooked on low for at least 5 or 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was great! We will be making this again! As another reviewer mentioned, I also added an extra can of tomato sauce as well as an extra chipotle pepper since we like spicy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
my first quinoa recipe and it's pretty good.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very blan. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States