Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SAT586
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Very good. I did take the liberty of adding about a pound of ground beef, a can of butter beans and another Jalapeño and extra cayenne pepper. Turned out pretty delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mommashouse2014
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This is seriously amazing! I didn't have all the ingredients. I didn't have black beans so i used red beans but only 1 can. And I don't use veggie oil instead I use coconut oil. But besides those minor alterations it was amazing. I did however sauté all the veggies together because I like mine more mushy. I'd suggest that way. It was super simple to make and very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Ok ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
If I could I would rate it 4.5 stars but it doesn't seem fair to downgrade the recipe. It's a great base to customizing your own chili. I loved the inclusion of the quinoa. It made it so hearty. My only suggestion would be to sauté the peppers with the onion. One reviewer said she liked the crunchy but that is not my thing so I softened them up before adding the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Delicious. My husband thought it a bit spicy and that's with the jalapeno left out. :) My cilantro was bad so I couldn't use it but will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This is our favorite chili recipe! My husband needs a high-fiber diet so this meal fits the boot. Makes us about 6 servings. We usually serve it with sour cream if that's all we're eating, but usually when we have it as leftovers we put it in our tacos & it's fabulous. I've made it about 5 times, and the last time I didn't have zucchini so I used a cucumber instead & we liked it even better. Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashtinrae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This was outstanding! I omitted the zucchini and added an extra bell pepper. It was very substantial! It yielded a ton and probably could feed a crowd! Tremendous flavor, straightforward, one of the best chili recipes yet! This was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this for the first time with the intention to make something healthy AND that my boyfriend would like and this was a hit. I read a lot of the reviews and this is what I ended up doing: 1. Clean quinoa thoroughly, draining it till water ran clear, which took a few minutes. 2. Soaked it while cutting veggies 3. Cut whole onion, a bunch of cilantro (more than a cup cus we love the stuff), cut two whole tomatoes and seasoned two can of black beans with a little adobo - All while sautéing the onions till they got brown. 4. Added garlic after onions were brown for a few mins then added the quinoa and seasoned. 5. Added chicken broth and simmered. 6. Added a little more cilantro and cayenne pepper then added frozen sweet corn (which was thawing while I was cutting veggies) after 18 mins of quinoa cooking for five more mins7. Added two cups of beans (which I really liked and it was a great balance - I read a lot of people used only one can) 8. Simmer for five more mins and served it with Korean flavored BBQ chicken on top of tortilla with kale and American cheese (sort of like a burrito). Yummmeeeee. We have leftovers for days but I'm looking forward To it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I am a very picky eater but loved this! It will definitely be added to my monthly meal planning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States