Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Excellent use of quinoa for a healthy, filling and tasty chilli. I found however, that hte proporations were a bit off - with one can of tomatoes and one cup of quinoa, the chilli came out more like a couscous and not as soupy as I like. I ended up adding two more cans of crushed tomatoes and the results were a family batch of excellent chilli. In the future though, maybe a half a cup of quinoa for smaller portions. I also didn't have chipolte so substituted bbq sauce for the smokey flavour - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This turned out so well. Our reluctant vegetarian was so pleased with the texture and taste. We removed the corn, because, well, corn doesn't belong in chili. After tasting, we added a can of diced tomatoes and some shredded sharp cheddar cheese. To serve, we topped it with sour cream and some more cheese. We'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Delicious flavors. I made this recipe just as directed. It was a little too hot (spicy) for my family. So make adjustments where necessary. I would suggest halving the jalapeno for starters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Really enjoyed this recipe! I didn't have any oregano and added extra chipotle/adobo (as I enjoy those flavors) ... it was great! Served with sliced avocado, no cheese.; kept it vegan. It is very thick and spicy! Those who don't like as much spice might want to eliminate the jalapeno and use diced green chili instead. But please, don't skip the chili powder or chipotle. I can assure you, any reviews that describe this chili as "bland" surely eliminated one or both of those things. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Delicious! Loved these spices with the quinoa, black beans and veggies. I decided to use 2 cans of tomatoes instead of 1 to make it more smooth and moist. I also added about 2 tbsp. of fresh garlic. My husband finally didn't mind a "vegetarian" chili! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I absolutely loved this. Added some yellow squash and celery. It was so good I didn't even add cheese to it! Healthy and delicious, just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
We really liked this. I had to add quite a bit more liquid (I used veggie stock) as it was way too thick to simmer, but I really enjoyed the flavor. I did use more than 1T of the chipotle in adobe sauce, more like 1/2 of the small can, but we like spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
My husband and I love this recipe. We've made it 3 times so far. I use a food processor to speed up all the chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I wasn't that impressed with this recipe. It wasn't a hearty chili like I was expecting. It turned out a bit spicy and I think there was a too much quinoa. If I make this again, I will probably make some changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MemeCa416

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This is my new favorite chili! The quinoa is great. We make it in the rice cooker before adding it to the chili. Couldn't be easier. I love the added protein for my veggie kids. One thing we noticed (we've made this twice) was that the zucchini gives this a strange feeling when it's in chunks. Diced wasn't small enough, so the second time we shredded it. This was perfect. I could eat this every week. Of course, we do serve it with a little sour cream and a sprinkle of cheese. Probably kills the calorie count, but it's sooo good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States