Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Amazing recipe. Hubby and 2 year old toddlers loved it. Great vegetarian option for the busy weeknights! Will definitely make this one of our regular meals!!! I added extra garlic and used chiptole chile powder and smoked paprika - to tone down the spiciness for the little ones. Shredded some sharp cheddar on top. It turned out absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Oh my goodness!! My wife is normally the chef of the house but I made this recipe my own and I nailed it! I know this is a vegetarian chili but we're omnivores. So I started with 1lb of lean ground beef, threw in the diced onion and cooked those together with some seasoning salt, cracked black pepper, and the garlic. I also used 2 cans of the tomatoes instead of the 1 the recipe called for so it would have for of a chili consistency. After that I had to start seasoning to taste so I'm not sure how much of everything I put in. Extra cumin, chili powder, some freeze dried garlic, a dash or two of the trader joe's brand season all, ground sea salt, and ground black pepper. I also substituted with red quinoa, added about a tbsp or so of sriracha, and the juice from 1 small lime (which is what made the dish). I served it over some homemade cornbread and oh my goodness!! Everyone loved it! Definitely making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Excellent use of quinoa for a healthy, filling and tasty chilli. I found however, that hte proporations were a bit off - with one can of tomatoes and one cup of quinoa, the chilli came out more like a couscous and not as soupy as I like. I ended up adding two more cans of crushed tomatoes and the results were a family batch of excellent chilli. In the future though, maybe a half a cup of quinoa for smaller portions. I also didn't have chipolte so substituted bbq sauce for the smokey flavour - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This turned out so well. Our reluctant vegetarian was so pleased with the texture and taste. We removed the corn, because, well, corn doesn't belong in chili. After tasting, we added a can of diced tomatoes and some shredded sharp cheddar cheese. To serve, we topped it with sour cream and some more cheese. We'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Delicious flavors. I made this recipe just as directed. It was a little too hot (spicy) for my family. So make adjustments where necessary. I would suggest halving the jalapeno for starters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Really enjoyed this recipe! I didn't have any oregano and added extra chipotle/adobo (as I enjoy those flavors) ... it was great! Served with sliced avocado, no cheese.; kept it vegan. It is very thick and spicy! Those who don't like as much spice might want to eliminate the jalapeno and use diced green chili instead. But please, don't skip the chili powder or chipotle. I can assure you, any reviews that describe this chili as "bland" surely eliminated one or both of those things. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Delicious! Loved these spices with the quinoa, black beans and veggies. I decided to use 2 cans of tomatoes instead of 1 to make it more smooth and moist. I also added about 2 tbsp. of fresh garlic. My husband finally didn't mind a "vegetarian" chili! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I absolutely loved this. Added some yellow squash and celery. It was so good I didn't even add cheese to it! Healthy and delicious, just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
We really liked this. I had to add quite a bit more liquid (I used veggie stock) as it was way too thick to simmer, but I really enjoyed the flavor. I did use more than 1T of the chipotle in adobe sauce, more like 1/2 of the small can, but we like spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
My husband and I love this recipe. We've made it 3 times so far. I use a food processor to speed up all the chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States