Quinoa and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This recipe is DELICIOUS! I was a little skeptical about trying it, because my previous experimentations with quinoa had been ho-hum. But this was great! The texture of the quinoa in the chili works perfectly, it's inexplicable. Try it, you won't be disappointed! Usually I make turkey chili, and I didn't miss the meat at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Really good. It makes a lot, so good for freezing or leftovers. The only thing I might change next time is leave out the chipotle peppers and just add hot sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I also used broth, I threw it all in a pot and simmered it for a couple hours. Ended up adding 2 extra cups of water. Left out the onion, zucchini and hot peppers. (family preferences). Used a bit of onion powder, and I only had 1/2 a green pepper so I added 3 carrots. Still turned out wonderful and the kids ate it up with some crackers in it. Obvioulsy versitile, quick and delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Really good! I thought it was too thick, but that is easily remedied. I also think it would have been better if it simmered longer. My husband wanted to dislike it but didn't =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
It was so easy and delicious!! I made a batch and shared it with people around me and even the meat lovers loved this. I also froze a container and thawed it for today and it was still amazing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Delicious and healthy! I didn't use the chipotle peppers because I couldn't find them so I just use some powder instead. I serve this with plain greek yogurt (as a sub for sour cream), shredded cheddar and green onions. This is one of my go-tos! Great for leftovers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
While I would not define this as 'chili', it is very very good and very hearty for having no meat. I love cooking with quinoa and it works so well here. I didn't have any chipotle chilis in adobo sauce so I instead used a decent amount of ground chipotle seasoning. Aside from that, I stuck to the recipe and I won't stray when I make this again. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
My first time cooking with quinoa, and I enjoyed this chili very much. I cooked the quinoa in vegitable broth per other suggestions, substituted one of the can of black beans for cannellini beans since that was all I had on hand and used 2 tspns of powdered chipotle instead of canned. Chili was very satisfying and did not miss the meat, but the dish is probably not the most attractive meal I ever made if appearance is important to you(perhaps not a dish for a dinner party?) One note, although this does make a big batch I don't think it was as much as 10 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was a very good vegetarian chili! I cooked the quinoa in veggie stock cause it gives it more flavor and I only used one can of black beans and it seemed to be just the right amount. I also left out the zucchini and chipotle pepper cause I didnt have them. After I added the quinoa it seemed to be a bit thick so I added some veggie stock and it was much better. I will make this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States