Quinoa Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This was really not the best recipe I've ever made. The flavour of the soup was really nice, and definately an easy and quick meal to make, but I found teh quinoa totally fell apart and turned to mush, rathar than held it's shape, which also lead it to taking up the majority of the volume of the soup. If I was to make this again, I would cook the quinoa separately and add it to bowl fulls of the soup, rathar than a one-pot deal. That way you would keep the nice "pop" than perfectly cooked quinoa has.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessN2Birds

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This was very good and very easy! I added: mushrooms, lots of chopped fresh basil, a couple bay leaves, a dash of thyme and a can of white beans I left out: celery (didn't have it) and parsley (since I focused on basil instead) It turned out beautifully though I still thought it could use a bit more spice. Not sure what though. A jalapeno pepper might do it some good. I have a cold and this really hit the spot as a veggie soup remedy. If you don't want the quinoa to go mushy make sure you cook it just long enough for all the veggies to be tender. You'll see the quinoa is ready when it "pops" open and floats to the surface instead of being grounded on the bottom of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOCKINWOBBYN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth to make this recipe vegetarian. I cooked the soup for about an hour longer than the recipe calls for. The quinoa cooked down a lot and it made a nice, thick and creamy broth. I recommend serving this with thick slices of multi-grain bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Yummy! I love Quinoa and thought it was a great idea to make it into soup. I decided to use some extra herbs to give it some pep. A dash of cumin A pinch of basil A spot of red pepper flakes A thing of canned tomatoes (juice an all) and some shell noodles. I cooked the Quinoa in the veggie broth tomato/water after cooking the veggies a little. A little after that I added the pasta. I found that the Quinoa kept together this way and the pasta was not over done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munchter_Face

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I haven't made this recipe...I just want to know what the big balls of stuff are in the picture???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I thought this soup was great...the cabbage made the soup slightly sweet. I used organic quinoa and I believe it improved the flavor too. I believe, though, this might please long-time vegetarians more. I will take leftover for lunch tomorrow. THis is a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I used a veggie broth and decresed the water and it came out more like a stew. Very easy and pretty delicious. I love quinoa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This was alright. I used about 5 or 6 carrots instead of just the one, and added a few cups of tomato juice with the chopped tomatoes. I used both red and white quinoa, which made this prettier, but the taste was just so so. I think that adding meat would make this better. Not bad by any means, but not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This soup was great! I did add potatoes and about 1 tsp cumin. It was very flavorful and all those veggies were so refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I doctored this heavily. I used canned tomatoes because they are not in season here right now and added seasoning such as a packet of Sazon and a bay leaf. Still, good base for veggie soup. Served it with bug hunks of whole grain baguette. Easily made vegan. Great way to introduce a new, unfamiliar food (quinoa) to a skeptic (my fiance). I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States