Quinoa Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth to make this recipe vegetarian. I cooked the soup for about an hour longer than the recipe calls for. The quinoa cooked down a lot and it made a nice, thick and creamy broth. I recommend serving this with thick slices of multi-grain bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This was alright. I used about 5 or 6 carrots instead of just the one, and added a few cups of tomato juice with the chopped tomatoes. I used both red and white quinoa, which made this prettier, but the taste was just so so. I think that adding meat would make this better. Not bad by any means, but not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
this recipe is misleading, is should be chicken quinoa soup. by the way tried it minus processed chicken soup, and with 2 cups quinoa,delicious.john currie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenock, Renfrewshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I thought this soup was great...the cabbage made the soup slightly sweet. I used organic quinoa and I believe it improved the flavor too. I believe, though, this might please long-time vegetarians more. I will take leftover for lunch tomorrow. THis is a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I used a veggie broth and decresed the water and it came out more like a stew. Very easy and pretty delicious. I love quinoa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I doctored this heavily. I used canned tomatoes because they are not in season here right now and added seasoning such as a packet of Sazon and a bay leaf. Still, good base for veggie soup. Served it with bug hunks of whole grain baguette. Easily made vegan. Great way to introduce a new, unfamiliar food (quinoa) to a skeptic (my fiance). I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This was really not the best recipe I've ever made. The flavour of the soup was really nice, and definately an easy and quick meal to make, but I found teh quinoa totally fell apart and turned to mush, rathar than held it's shape, which also lead it to taking up the majority of the volume of the soup. If I was to make this again, I would cook the quinoa separately and add it to bowl fulls of the soup, rathar than a one-pot deal. That way you would keep the nice "pop" than perfectly cooked quinoa has.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessN2Birds

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I think I made to much. I didn't like. It was to watery for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic water

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Cheap, easy, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I followed the recipe and incorporated some suggestions in other reviews. The soup was completely mediocre. The flavor fell flat. I had high hopes, but I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States