Quinoa Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Tasteless...I'm sorry but it's like eating soaked veggies, no condiments but salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
yummy I discovered quinoa while on my Peruvian honeymoon. This soup reminded me of our trip. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This was very good and very easy! I added: mushrooms, lots of chopped fresh basil, a couple bay leaves, a dash of thyme and a can of white beans I left out: celery (didn't have it) and parsley (since I focused on basil instead) It turned out beautifully though I still thought it could use a bit more spice. Not sure what though. A jalapeno pepper might do it some good. I have a cold and this really hit the spot as a veggie soup remedy. If you don't want the quinoa to go mushy make sure you cook it just long enough for all the veggies to be tender. You'll see the quinoa is ready when it "pops" open and floats to the surface instead of being grounded on the bottom of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOCKINWOBBYN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This soup was great! I did add potatoes and about 1 tsp cumin. It was very flavorful and all those veggies were so refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I followed the recipe and incorporated some suggestions in other reviews. The soup was completely mediocre. The flavor fell flat. I had high hopes, but I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Cheap, easy, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I think I made to much. I didn't like. It was to watery for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic water

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This was really not the best recipe I've ever made. The flavour of the soup was really nice, and definately an easy and quick meal to make, but I found teh quinoa totally fell apart and turned to mush, rathar than held it's shape, which also lead it to taking up the majority of the volume of the soup. If I was to make this again, I would cook the quinoa separately and add it to bowl fulls of the soup, rathar than a one-pot deal. That way you would keep the nice "pop" than perfectly cooked quinoa has.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessN2Birds

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I doctored this heavily. I used canned tomatoes because they are not in season here right now and added seasoning such as a packet of Sazon and a bay leaf. Still, good base for veggie soup. Served it with bug hunks of whole grain baguette. Easily made vegan. Great way to introduce a new, unfamiliar food (quinoa) to a skeptic (my fiance). I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I used a veggie broth and decresed the water and it came out more like a stew. Very easy and pretty delicious. I love quinoa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States