Quinoa Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Love it! So good, first good experience with quinoa so it was a big hit with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellaire, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I haven't made this recipe...I just want to know what the big balls of stuff are in the picture???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I have a daughter home sick today and she wanted chicken noodle soup. She's gluten intolerant, so I used this recipe as a starting point for a gluten free chicken soup. It turned out great. I'm giving it four stars only because I made so many changes that its hard to rate the original soup. But, the base was a perfect starting point. I started by boiling two chicken breasts in the chicken broth and shredding them into pieces. Then I followed the recipe with the following changes: I didn't have celery, peppers, tomatoes, cabbage or parsley on hand - so I skipped them. But, I added the shredded chicken and one can of large butter beans (rinsed) for more texture. I used Mrs. Dash Chicken Grill Seasonings to kick it up as it simmered. (two-three shakes). It turned out to be a great gluten free soup for a picky teenager with a cold! Thanks for the base to start with... I'll be using it again! The end result was a Added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carthage, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was pretty good. I added some zucchini I had to use up, some crushed red pepper flakes for extra spice, and some fresh basil, and I doubled the garlic. A simple vegetable soup, great for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
definately didnt come out like the picture. tasty nonetheless though. thick too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
We really didn't enjoy this at all. It lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I added chicken, a bay leaf, basil and thyme and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Not horrible, but not very flavorful. Even when I added fresh herbs (basil, tyme, and oregano) the flavor was on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
3.5 STARS. It was a good base soup. I stayed a lot closer to the recipe than I usually do for soups. I made the quinoa in a separate pot with the 1 part quinoa, 2 parts liquid ratio, but other than that I didn't use any water. Something funky was going on with my fresh garlic, so I used jarred minced garlic. I added chopped zucchini, yellow squash, white mushrooms, and some chicken thigh meat. It was still a bit bland so I added a dash of apple cider vinegar, some cayenne and cracked red pepper, and a couple of bay leaves. Oh, and I used canned tomatoes (with juices) because our tomatoes aren't so great right now. We'll see what my boyfriend thinks of it, and how it freezes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I am eating this as I review...yummy! I had some leftover cooked quinoa to use up and this recipe was perfect for that. I followed some other reviewers. I added some chicken, mushrooms, Italian Seasoning, red pepper flakes and cumin as suggested by other users and subbed yellow pepper for green and a can of italian diced tomatoes (juice and all) because that was what I had on hand. Also added some frozen mixed veggies. This is so, so good and I am thinking that even my picky teenager and quinoa skeptic husband will eat this up! Would give 5 stars but am not rating the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Cooper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States