Quinoa Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Love it! So good, first good experience with quinoa so it was a big hit with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellaire, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I haven't made this recipe...I just want to know what the big balls of stuff are in the picture???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I have a daughter home sick today and she wanted chicken noodle soup. She's gluten intolerant, so I used this recipe as a starting point for a gluten free chicken soup. It turned out great. I'm giving it four stars only because I made so many changes that its hard to rate the original soup. But, the base was a perfect starting point. I started by boiling two chicken breasts in the chicken broth and shredding them into pieces. Then I followed the recipe with the following changes: I didn't have celery, peppers, tomatoes, cabbage or parsley on hand - so I skipped them. But, I added the shredded chicken and one can of large butter beans (rinsed) for more texture. I used Mrs. Dash Chicken Grill Seasonings to kick it up as it simmered. (two-three shakes). It turned out to be a great gluten free soup for a picky teenager with a cold! Thanks for the base to start with... I'll be using it again! The end result was a Added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carthage, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was pretty good. I added some zucchini I had to use up, some crushed red pepper flakes for extra spice, and some fresh basil, and I doubled the garlic. A simple vegetable soup, great for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
definately didnt come out like the picture. tasty nonetheless though. thick too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
We really didn't enjoy this at all. It lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I added chicken, a bay leaf, basil and thyme and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Not horrible, but not very flavorful. Even when I added fresh herbs (basil, tyme, and oregano) the flavor was on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
3.5 STARS. It was a good base soup. I stayed a lot closer to the recipe than I usually do for soups. I made the quinoa in a separate pot with the 1 part quinoa, 2 parts liquid ratio, but other than that I didn't use any water. Something funky was going on with my fresh garlic, so I used jarred minced garlic. I added chopped zucchini, yellow squash, white mushrooms, and some chicken thigh meat. It was still a bit bland so I added a dash of apple cider vinegar, some cayenne and cracked red pepper, and a couple of bay leaves. Oh, and I used canned tomatoes (with juices) because our tomatoes aren't so great right now. We'll see what my boyfriend thinks of it, and how it freezes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I am eating this as I review...yummy! I had some leftover cooked quinoa to use up and this recipe was perfect for that. I followed some other reviewers. I added some chicken, mushrooms, Italian Seasoning, red pepper flakes and cumin as suggested by other users and subbed yellow pepper for green and a can of italian diced tomatoes (juice and all) because that was what I had on hand. Also added some frozen mixed veggies. This is so, so good and I am thinking that even my picky teenager and quinoa skeptic husband will eat this up! Would give 5 stars but am not rating the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States