Quinoa Vegetable Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was a good base recipe but the cooking times are very off in my opinion. I hate overcooked veggies. I would make the following changes. Cut down to 1 C of broth, the veggies create a lot of juices which were not completely absorbed by the time the quinoa was done. Let the quinoa simmer for 10 - 15 minutes before adding your mushrooms, zucchini, etc. I would also add the garbanzos at this time. I like adding a cup of quartered cherry tomatoes as well. Simmer for about 5 more minutes. Increase spinach to 3 or 4 cups and add at the end of cooking. The spinach will wilt from the heat of the dish. Adding a few shakes of crushed red pepper adds a nice little bit of heat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I could really tell that this was a recipe thrown together with ingredients left in the fridge rather than a real study of what would go together well. There was not much flavor. We didn't love it. If you do make it, add LOTS more spinach for extra nutrients and flavor. More veggies in general would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca W.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cabot, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Absolutely wonderful. Followed the recipe as written. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
A little bland as a meal, but extremely good as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
The nicest thing about this recipe is how easy it is to customize to your personal taste. I didn't have all the suggested vegetables on hand so I used what I did have. I like a plate to have color so I replaced the zucchini with red pepper (I also happened to be out of zucchini) and I replaced the garbanzos with toasted almonds. I think toasting the quinoa was an inspired idea, it really gives it a nice flavor. Thanks Crystal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This recipe worked great. We added basil and parsley along with salt and pepper since some of the reviews said this was bland--worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This was great because it's the perfect dish to add your own take to. I added a tbsp of cumin and a tsp of turmeric for extra flavor and it was fantastic. I also didn't bother to run to the store for mushrooms, but I didn't miss them. If you want to add more liquid this can be whisked into a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Love this recipe. This has become a staple for us. We have been eating quinoa for many years, and this recipe was a nice variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
easy and delicious. food like this could turn anyone into a vegetarian :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evitana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States