Quinoa Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
All the necessary parts are here. I threw in some garlic with the onions and mushroom, and added some shredded cheese to the bread crumbs. The taste was nice, but everything was just a little too homogenous. When I make this again, I’m probably going to add some red bell pepper and a leafy green – most likely broccoli or spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tank Blankenship

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I omitted mushrooms and added zucchini, red bell pepper and corn. I also added a little salsa to the mix. I would like to substitute the 1/4 cup butter but couldn't think of an alternative. It came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This was really good and really quite filling. I cut the recipe in half and made a small one for our family of 3. We had steamed chard on the side of it, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Like others have said, this is a great basic and versatile casserole recipe. I was easily able to make substitutions for items I didn't have. I was out of quinoa, butter and mushrooms, so I omitted the butter, used frozen mixed veggies instead of mushrooms, cooked egg noodles (instead of quinoa) in the broth, and mixed half of the remaining broth, after the noodles were cooked, back into the mixture and allowed to thicken. Sprinkled grated cheddar cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I thought the recipe was okay, just an average tuna casserole, but my significant other took one bite and wouldn't eat any more. I did make a few simple changes to the recipe, adding more tuna and adding some fresh asparagus, neither of which should have changed our reaction to the recipe much as we like tuna and asparagus. I've concluded that my SO simply doesn't like quinoa, as this is the second recipe I've tried that included it and he wouldn't eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean Shores, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I thought this recipe was fantastic. I had asparagus to use up, so I chopped it into about 2 inch pieces and mixed it in. I also topped with cheese and crumbled ritz crackers (don't have bread crumbs). I had a can of cream of mushroom soup, so added that in too. It was great, and my husband LOVED it! To make it easier, just cook the quinoa the regular way but shorten the time a couple of minutes to leave some moisture for the baking. So good! Everyone will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by renzigirl
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I cooked this tonight. I loved it. Next time I would add more tuna, maybe peas, and cayenne pepper or other spices. I feel comforted by the taste, and not feeling weighed down like you do with traditional Tuna Noodle Casserole. I did add spinanch like another reviewer suggested, substituted butter with olive oil, and used panko plain breadcrumbs.Thank you for a new recipe in my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
A very versatile casserole recipe. The quinoa can be cooked in the microwave with about 4 cups of vegetable/chicken stock. Based on what we had in the house, we added one can of condensed mushroom soup, a cup of frozen peas, a cup of frozen stir-fry vegetables, half of a sauteed red onion, two small cans of tuna, and a variety of seasonings (cumin, garlic salt, oregano, thyme, basil, cilantro, black pepper, regular salt, chili powder, and a little cayenne pepper), with seasoned panko crumbs on top. The quinoa cooked in the microwave in about 15 minutes, stirring and adding liquid every five minutes. The casserole set nicely and browned around the edges in about 30 minutes. It made a very satisfying meal. Next time I will probably add another can of tuna and would be comfortable adding any vegetables around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I substituted olive oil for the butter, used 3 of the 2.3 oz tuna packets and only used 4 cups of stock. the quinoa was totally cooked by then and any more stock would probably have made it mushy. Also I did not want to open another box of stock. I also added peas and will probably add broccoli, cauliflower and/or ground turkey next time. To season I used some tumeric, lots of cumin, minimal cayenne pepper, black pepper and salt while I was cooking the quinoa. This was a really good recipe and it leaves a lot of room for additions which is nice. I don't feel like I have to run to the store to spend $10 on one ingredient--these are all things that I have or will use normally. Five stars for convenience, versatility, inexpensiveness, healthiness and tastiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I added peas & an extra can of tuna. Instead of bread crumbs, I sprinkled with Panko crumbs and unsalted roasted slivered almonds. It added a crunch to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States