Quinoa Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made this for Christmas dinner as I had a few gluten-free guests and one vegetarian (I put ham in my regular stuffing), and it was a big hit! Thanks to all the comments I made the following modifications: I added 3 cloves of garlic and half a cup of pine nuts to the onions when I was sauteing them with a mix of olive oil and butter. I then sauteed the quinoa for a few minutes in the onion, garlic, pine nut mix and then added the broth. To the pot I added about 1/2 teaspoon each cinnamon and nutmeg, and a tiny bit of ground cloves. I substituted sweet potato cubed which I sauteed in butter and olive oil. Once that was close to done I lightly sauteed the zucchini. I also left out the apricots and cranberries, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia Fosser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made this recipe for my family this Thanksgiving. It is a lot of food. Recommend cutting the recipe in half or you'll have a ton of leftovers. Also I added extra dried cranberries and apricots. I also added half cup of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Just finished eating this - made it for my first time with some modifications, thanks to the other reviewers for the heads-up on the flavor. Here's what I did: I sauteed 3 cloves of garlic in a pat of butter, then threw in some premade carmelized onions. I chopped up some orange bell pepper and added that. I had less than 3/4 cup quinoa on hand, so I added that dry to the sautee, after a few min put the ingredients to the side in a bowl. I browned about 2 Tbs. of pine nuts in a frying pan, then set to the side. I brought 2 cups of low sodium chicken broth to a boil. Meanwhile, I chopped up less than half of the butternut squash along with less than one of the zucchini's (due to my quinoa shortage, I cut the ingredients by more than half) and fried them on low in a bit of butter and oil. That took about 15 min or so to cook. I added the quinoa sautee to the broth, then the cranberries and let it simmer for a while. I feel like the cooking time from that point was another 1/2 an hour. After maybe 20 min of cooking and adding dashes of pepper and cumin, I added the squash and zucchini. I noticed that the quinoa was still very wet towards the end, so I sprinkled in couscous very carefully, mixed well, covered, and eventually turned off the heat and put a paper towel over the pot, under the lid to absorb additional moisture. Finally, added green onions, pine nuts and chopped cilantro instead of parsley. Ate with a squirt of lime and topped with chopped avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I made this stuffing as an alternative to a traditional stuffing for our Easter dinner. I loved all the different veggies and fruit that were in this, and thought they gave it a good flavor. Some people who had not had quinoa before were a little reluctant to try it, but I always like making them branch out a little and try new things. My immediate family all really liked it though, and we enjoyed the leftovers in the days after Easter. Thank you for the recipe, Cynthiana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I agree that this recipe was very bland. At the end I added cinnamon and cayenne to spice it up a bit. It would be better to saute the squash and zucchini with spices in the beginning before adding quinoa - another option would be to use sweet potato instead of squash. Nice concept but lacking taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Absolutely delish! I made this as a side for our Christmas Eve dinner and everyone was raving about it. Made it exactly as described, but found that the cooking time for the quinoa was longer. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andi
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! Great gluten free choice for my husband, but no one even knew it was gluten free. The apricots & cranberries add such a nice sweetness that's not over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I agree that it was bland. I added cumin and sugar and that helped but the spices in this recipe definitely need some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
My gluten-free sister was a big fan and everyone else seemed to enjoy it too. I followed other posts and added some cinnamon and nutmeg to add a little more sweetness and flavor. It was a fun take on traditional Thanksgiving stuffing. My only complaint was the time it took to prep the squash. Next time I may just buy pre-chopped Squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Followed the recipe as stated and found it to be pretty bland, but I couldn't figure out what it was lacking. If I did it again, I probably would'be tried using the chicken broth I had on hand instead of going out of my way to get some vegetable. It would lose it's vegetarian charm, but might have a richer flavor. I was disappointed. First time using Quinoa, though, and am thankful for the experience. Would have to figure out how to make it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Stuffing

See how to make quinoa stuffing with squash and dried fruits.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Vegetarian Stuffing

A Thanksgiving side dish that will delight vegetarians and meat lovers alike.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States