Quinoa Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was a really good base recipe. It's very bland however, and even with some italian spices it was still "missing something". However, it was easy and very healthy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I added some chicken sausage to the recipe and it worked out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Once I added a few things to this recipe it was excellent but I do agree that it would have been a bit bland on it's own. I added a whole 15 oz. can of tomato sauce instead of just a cup, and Italian seasonings as well as some crushed pepper for a little kick. I also added some cheddar cheese inside as well as on top instead of the mozzarella cheese, I think the sharpness of the cheddar was a good addition. I also kept the peppers cooking at least 10 minute longer than the recipe said, and I still think that it was too crisp tender for me, so I next time would probably either microwave or cook the peppers a little bit before adding the filling and cooking it the 18 plus minutes. Otherwise a great recipe- very healthy yet tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Delicious stuffed in Poblano peppers! Nice and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This was really delicious! I think the tomato sauce made it a little bland, but I just added my favorite spices and it turned out great! :D Make this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
It was OK, the filling was good, but the peppers seemed bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was very simple to make. I did make some changes. Instead of using diced tomatoes I used a can of diced tomatoes & green chiles, chick peas and mixed some sharp cheddar cheese right into the mix before stuffing. I took the advice of other reviewers and precooked the peppers. Good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I always par boil my peppers before making any type of stuffed pepper. Put about a half inch of water in a pot and bring to boiling. Put pepper upside down (tops cut off and cleaned out already) in the water and cover. Boil for 5 minutes. They are now ready to stuff and don't need as much time in the oven - other than to heat up or cook whatever filling. This recipe did need a lot of additional spices - I put about 1.5 Tbs. seasoned salt, 2 tsp. pepper, 1 tsp. red pepper flakes, and 1 tsp. garlic powder. Also put some shredded cheddar in the filling as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
The perfect thing to cook for dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lbettell20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I have not tried this recipe yet but plan on making it tomorrow. Seeing the comments about the blandness, I would like to offer up what I now plan on doing when I make this. I love quiona and it is excellent if you saute diced celery, onion and carrot. Add a little chicken broth and throw in currants, dried cranberries and diced apricots, a little cinnamon and cardamon. Add the cooked quinoa and the tomatoes if you like. Then fill the peppers. When I make stuffed peppers, I usually slice them longways and lay them down on top of some seasoned tomato sauce and chicken broth. This seems to amp up the flavor of the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States