Quinoa Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Excellent flavor! Vegetarian newby, and this was an easy recipe to follow. Added extra chopped yellow, red, and orange pepper for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I too thought, as is, this recipe is bland, but overall a solid start and healthy dinner. I added fresh basil, but think ill try thyme and marjoram next time since the basil wasn't enough. I will also try mixing the cheese in to more evenly distribute. The parboil technique of preparing the peppers before stuffing worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
The mix of flavors and the texture of the filling was very nice, but 18 minutes was definitely not enough time for the peppers to become tender. In the future, I will steam them for a few minutes before stuffing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
These were delicious with some changes.. I cooked the quinoa in chicken broth which gave it amazing flavor! I also boiled the peppers on the stove in a steamer for about 5-7 mins before baking and they were the perfect texture once they came out of the oven. I added a tablespoon of seasoned salt and substituted granulated onion powder for the onion - I mixed about half a handful of the mozzarella into the pepper filling and it held together just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
The peppers were still a bit hard. I ate it anyway, my husband did not care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
These were delicious, but I gave them 4 stars because I think my alterations made a big difference in the taste. 1) I cooked the quinoa in chicken stock and tomato juice (from canned tomatoes). That gave it amazing flavour. 2) I added more garlic to the onions (double). 3) I added a little cheese to the mixture (I think that also helped hold it together). 4) I used 2/3 c Randa pasta sauce (with Basil) and 1/3 c canned tomatoes instead of the tomato sauce. This North African brand really added a nice kick! 5) I Baked the peppers (whole) for 10-15 min on 350 by themselves. I let them cool -- then cut the tops off, seeded them, and stuffed them. I made sure the stuffing was really packed in! Then I let them sit a while (while I prepared the other parts of this big meal) and baked them for 20 min in the oven to finish the cooking. I think in that sitting time, the flavours also mingled! Very yummy results -- they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Bland. The quinoa needs to be cooked in chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made this last night & it was OK. I added dried marjoram & thyme because as written the dish sounded bland. If I make this recipe again, I think I will mix the cheese into the vegetable-quinoa mix instead of sprinkling it on top. I might add some diced chicken. And I will probably try to pre-cook the peppers in some fashion, because mine were undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Did not like this at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I have not tried this recipe yet but plan on making it tomorrow. Seeing the comments about the blandness, I would like to offer up what I now plan on doing when I make this. I love quiona and it is excellent if you saute diced celery, onion and carrot. Add a little chicken broth and throw in currants, dried cranberries and diced apricots, a little cinnamon and cardamon. Add the cooked quinoa and the tomatoes if you like. Then fill the peppers. When I make stuffed peppers, I usually slice them longways and lay them down on top of some seasoned tomato sauce and chicken broth. This seems to amp up the flavor of the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States