Quinoa Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
The peppers were still a bit hard. I ate it anyway, my husband did not care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
These were delicious, but I gave them 4 stars because I think my alterations made a big difference in the taste. 1) I cooked the quinoa in chicken stock and tomato juice (from canned tomatoes). That gave it amazing flavour. 2) I added more garlic to the onions (double). 3) I added a little cheese to the mixture (I think that also helped hold it together). 4) I used 2/3 c Randa pasta sauce (with Basil) and 1/3 c canned tomatoes instead of the tomato sauce. This North African brand really added a nice kick! 5) I Baked the peppers (whole) for 10-15 min on 350 by themselves. I let them cool -- then cut the tops off, seeded them, and stuffed them. I made sure the stuffing was really packed in! Then I let them sit a while (while I prepared the other parts of this big meal) and baked them for 20 min in the oven to finish the cooking. I think in that sitting time, the flavours also mingled! Very yummy results -- they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Bland. The quinoa needs to be cooked in chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made this last night & it was OK. I added dried marjoram & thyme because as written the dish sounded bland. If I make this recipe again, I think I will mix the cheese into the vegetable-quinoa mix instead of sprinkling it on top. I might add some diced chicken. And I will probably try to pre-cook the peppers in some fashion, because mine were undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Did not like this at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I have not tried this recipe yet but plan on making it tomorrow. Seeing the comments about the blandness, I would like to offer up what I now plan on doing when I make this. I love quiona and it is excellent if you saute diced celery, onion and carrot. Add a little chicken broth and throw in currants, dried cranberries and diced apricots, a little cinnamon and cardamon. Add the cooked quinoa and the tomatoes if you like. Then fill the peppers. When I make stuffed peppers, I usually slice them longways and lay them down on top of some seasoned tomato sauce and chicken broth. This seems to amp up the flavor of the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
The perfect thing to cook for dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lbettell20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I always par boil my peppers before making any type of stuffed pepper. Put about a half inch of water in a pot and bring to boiling. Put pepper upside down (tops cut off and cleaned out already) in the water and cover. Boil for 5 minutes. They are now ready to stuff and don't need as much time in the oven - other than to heat up or cook whatever filling. This recipe did need a lot of additional spices - I put about 1.5 Tbs. seasoned salt, 2 tsp. pepper, 1 tsp. red pepper flakes, and 1 tsp. garlic powder. Also put some shredded cheddar in the filling as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was very simple to make. I did make some changes. Instead of using diced tomatoes I used a can of diced tomatoes & green chiles, chick peas and mixed some sharp cheddar cheese right into the mix before stuffing. I took the advice of other reviewers and precooked the peppers. Good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
It was OK, the filling was good, but the peppers seemed bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States