Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Nice alternative to rice. Used low sodium low fat chicken broth - there was no need to add additional butter or salt to make it tasty. The texture is similiar to wild rice, which my son doesn't like so he wasn't a fan, but the rest of the family and the neighbors loved it. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
This was pretty good, but it had waaaaay too much onion in it! When I make it again, I'll use at least half the onion. Maybe even less. Otherwise, it was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Delicious! A great way to cook quinoa. By the way, if you're not eating quinoa yet, you are seriuosly missing out on this delicious, healthy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This recipe is excellent! I watch the glycemic index of foods I eat, and quinoa is a low GI food (35.) I've been looking for recipes for quinoa to include in my diet, and this was a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
very good! I sauteed the onion and garlic in the butter first for digestibility and then put in the quinoa and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
Delicious!! My 12 year old loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
It was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Simple, great side dish. MUST rinse quinoa before toasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Very good, but I'm confused about the rinsing. I've looked at other recipes that involve toasting the quinoa first and they don't mention rinsing. I checked out a site that sells it and they say they pre-rinse so the consumer doesn't need to. Guess it depends on the kind you buy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
My first time trying quinoa. This dish had great flavor! I sauteed the onion and mushrooms (which I added) before browning the quinoa, and it was a good move. Update: I've tried this same recipe with bulgur and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States