Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
It was my first time trying Quinoa. I used Red Mill Quinoa so I did not rinse it. I thought it sounded strange to add the ingredients at the end after cooking the quinoa so I sauted the onion and 2 cloves of garlic before browning the quinoa. When it was simmering I tossed in the salt & thyme. Only when it was finished did I add the parsley and a quick squeeze of lemon. (I used Turkey broth leftover from Thanksgiving). My result was a very bland quinoa.....maybe throwing in uncooked onions and garlic as recipe states would have helped with favor? However I cannot imagine eating it with raw onions and garlic. I will not make this again, however I will continue to experiment with quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I didn't care for this, but it could be just because I don't like quinoa - it's the first time I've tried it. I cooked the garlic and onion before mixing it in the quinoa, maybe that was the problem? I found this recipe didn't have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I sauteed the onions and garlic before mixing them into the cooked quinoa. I also added dried cranberries. Soooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I made this for the first time tonight and loved it. I sauteed the onion and garlic in olive oil first. I also substituted half a teaspoon thyme for the fresh. The result was a wonderful side dish that will definitely appear on my table for dinner again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Simple and tasty. Will make again. Definitely lots of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
We really enjoyed this simple and healthy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
this was the first time i've every had quinoa and we liked it. I used chicken broth and adjusted the seasoning a bit. I'll likely try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I love this side dish. I've made it as least 3 or 4 times now. If I don't have either fresh parsley of fresh thyme, I've used dried and barely noticed the difference. I think it is better with fresh lemon juice, but I used bottled lemon juice when I don't have lemons on hand. I like my onions cooked, so I cook them in the pan before I add the quinoa. I did notice that the cook time for the quinoa seemed a little short to me. I ended up leaving it on the stove for at least 5 more minutes until it was tender and the quinoa had at least doubled in size. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Just made this dish and it was great! We love quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carwile2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was my first time making quinoa. It was very good. I added jalpeno pepper along with the onions. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 191-200 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States