Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is the first time I've made Quinoa. I followed what others did and cooked the garlic and onion while toasting the Quinoa. I used olive oil instead of butter and it was good. I used fresh thyme and parsley and after tasting the finished product I decided it needed a bit more flavor. I fine chopped some raw onion and added it at the end like the original recipe calls for. Overall - if you don't like Quinoa, you won't like this. But if you've never tried it I would say this is a good starting point. I will make it again cooking the garlic and onion first but leaving a little onion on the side to add at the end. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I have made this a couple of times now. It is really yummy. I did saute the onions ahead of time since we don't like them too raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Really tasty! I little nutter flavor than I was expecting but super easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsTNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I've loved quinoa ever since discovering it and this recipe does an awesome job of bringing out the nutty flavor. Next time I might press the garlic instead of simply chopping it and try either less onion (my small onion probably yielded 1 C) or red onion. Really complimented our steak with whiskey sauce well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
added chopped carrots with quinoa while browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Made this for dinner last evening and truly enjoyed it. Very healthy. I didn't change a thing...Great recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This recipe turned out delicious but I had to make some considerable modifications. First of all, toasted the quinoa for 5 min. is too long. Even at a low heat it will burn and start popping out of the pan. 3 min. is more realistic. Amount of broth needed is more like 4 cups instead of two. (I used chicken broth) Like others I added the garlic and onion while the quinoa cooked to enhance flavor. Instead of parsley I used cilantro and it was very flavorful. All in all a great recipe but less time browning the quinoa and more liquid are needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethmariead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Phenomenal and easy - great to throw on the stove when the main dish requires a lot of prep! I add sauteed portobello mushrooms for a little extra umph
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
A nice, healthy side dish that doesn't compete with the other flavors in your meal. I did saute the onion and garlic in the butter for a few minutes before adding the quinoa and broth, but other than that I stuck to the recipe. I'm always looking for new ways to use quinoa because I use it as a protein source so often (I'm a vegetarian), so this recipe is a real gem for me. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Good recipe. Quinoa is a Gluten Free grain, making it a nice change from rice. Also doesn't over cook as easily as rice. It can be used in just about any recipe as a substitute grain. Try it in Tabouleh instead of bulgur wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Stuffing

See how to make quinoa stuffing with squash and dried fruits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States