Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
It is probably just personal taste but we did not care for this. Initailly, I used chicken broth to cook it in and it tasted great. So I was really excited to add in all the other ingredients and see how much better it would be. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. Even though we do NOT eat bland food EVER, we felt like this was better with just the broth. Maybe it would have been better if the other ingredients had cooked in it for a few minutes. The taste of the dish was just not our thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This was our family's first time trying quinoa. All but our 6 year old daughter loved it. The only changes I made were instead of tossing the onions in after cooking, I sauteed them with the quinoa. I also added the herbs while simmering, and I substituted the parsley for sage, and the vegetable broth for chicken broth. It turned out wonderfully... I can imagine if I had followed the original recipe, it would have been equally as delicious, as this is as quinoa is as versatile as rice. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I followed the recipe to a 't' and this was flavorless. All I could really taste was the broth which was not good standing just as it was. Disappointed. I'll try not to take it out on the quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebby713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Voll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
First time trying quinoa and I'm in love. I cut the oil in half and sautéed the onion with the quinoa, like someone suggested, then added the garlic with the broth. Making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bacau, Bacau, Romania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Loved It. I too sauted my veggies (gr & red peppers, yellow and red onions, and celery) before adding the quinoa. I also used chicken stock. Instead of adding salt, I sprinkled my portion with Maggi...didn't use the lemon juice. I will definitely make this again...and the best part, it's easy to change things up with recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is simple and delicious. I have tried several quinoa recipes but this one is the best so far. I made a few modifications based on ingredients I had on hand. Substituted chicken for veggie broth and used cilantro instead of parsley. Like other reviewers I also sautéed the onion and garlic before combining. But overall, yummy, easy, and a limited number of ingredients make this a goto quinquennial recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Pretty good... I made this recipe exactly according to instructions although I used 1 tsp of dried thyme rather than 1/2 Tbsp of fresh thyme. The flavor was a little bland for our tastes, but was helped by a few extra squeezes of fresh lemon juice, a little more salt, and a sprinkle of fresh Parmesan. One great aspect of this recipe is toasting the quinoa, which added some personality to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecorrine22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
As I have never used quinoa before, I was hoping this recipe didn't turn me off from it, and it definitely didn't! I bought Kaniwa but followed all the same directions. I sauteed the onion and garlic first and then reserved it in a separate bowl. Served this atop halved acorn squash and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I thought the dish was decent but I would definitely make adjustments to it when making it again. First, the store was out of vegetable broth and only had mushroom broth (I think it was a good addition). I roasted a red pepper in the oven and tossed it in at the end. I bought and added thyme as stated in the recipe, but I will definitely leave it out next time. I will also throw in some other vegetables as well (peas, carrots).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Stuffing

See how to make quinoa stuffing with squash and dried fruits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States