Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Excellent! An extremely satisfying alternative to rice. Went very well with lightly breaded fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was my first time making quinoa, and I must say, it is very good. But I didn't follow the recipe exactly: I sauteed the garlic and onion and then toasted the quinoa. I found the end result a bit bland, so I recommend adding triple the salt, double the lemon juice, and triple the thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
this is a wonderful side dish. My husband loved it and so did I. I will make this often. It is not straight carbs, but loaded with protien. And so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
a terrific quinoa rec., particulartly due to the fresh herbs. don't be intimidated by fresh herbs, just wash them when you get home and let them dry on your counter. next day just stuff them into little freezer bags. then they are good to go in whatever amt., etc. must cook for hubs who now is on a low chol diet so this is very appreciated. omitted butter in lieu of evoo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linden, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This recipe was easy to make and tasted great. It was one of the best quinoa recipes I've ever tried. The only change I made was using green onion, which turned our pretty nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I loved this recipe but I found the thyme a little overpowering. I followed other reviews to saute the onions at the beginning and I added some orange pepper to the onions. I tasted it to see whether it was done and loved the flavour. Once I added the thyme, garlic and parsley and tasted again though, it wasn't as good. I will definately make again but leave out the thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Great recipe! I also mixed in some parmesan cheese to taste! Big hit with family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Way too much onion. I couldn't even eat my serving because it's all I could taste. I think I will give it another shot but with a few alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I also sauteed the onions and garlic. Used chicken broth, dried parsley, sea salt, and mixed in a large tablespoon of apricot jam (this was a side dish with apricot and honey glazed chicken). I guess I totally changed the recipe but I'd never made quinoa before and was very excited with how well it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie Rushing Wheat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Our first time trying quinoa. My four and seven years olds both LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAEBRALOP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States