Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was my first attempt at quinoa and I LOVED IT. Even my picky 12 year old ate it and didn't gag :P I didn't have any fresh herbs on hand (shame on me!) so I used dried Italian seasoning instead, and probably more garlic and lemon than was called for, but it was delish. I will definitely be making more of this and less of the processed white rice I've become so addicted to. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Quinoa Side Dish Haiku: "I love quinoa's 'bite', such an earthy, tender taste. Easy, hippie food!" My family's not the biggest fans of quinoa, but w/ the delicate addition of thyme, lemon, parsley and garlic, they couldn't get enough of the stuff tonight. Mine took closer to 25 min. to absorb all the liquid, and as a preference since I know that I wouldn't have liked the raw onion mixed in prior to serving, I softened the garlic and onion in the butter before adding the dry quinoa. While not screamingly-flavorful, this recipe's an easy way to prepare a healthy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Wow! I had never eaten quinoa before and since I am trying to eat healthier I thought I'd give this recipe a try. I subbed olive oil for butter as a healthier choice and did add more lemon at the end just because I love lemon. I also followed the advice of others and sautéed the onions and garlic first before adding the quinoa. I followed the rest of the recipe and it was amazing. Thanks Sal for such a great recipe I am hooked on quinoa now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Loved it. Used a bit of dried thyme because I didn't have it fresh. I also used chicken broth instead of veg broth. In my opinion, the lemon is NOT optional. It made this dish fantastic. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liscooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Excellent! An extremely satisfying alternative to rice. Went very well with lightly breaded fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was my first time making quinoa, and I must say, it is very good. But I didn't follow the recipe exactly: I sauteed the garlic and onion and then toasted the quinoa. I found the end result a bit bland, so I recommend adding triple the salt, double the lemon juice, and triple the thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
this is a wonderful side dish. My husband loved it and so did I. I will make this often. It is not straight carbs, but loaded with protien. And so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
a terrific quinoa rec., particulartly due to the fresh herbs. don't be intimidated by fresh herbs, just wash them when you get home and let them dry on your counter. next day just stuff them into little freezer bags. then they are good to go in whatever amt., etc. must cook for hubs who now is on a low chol diet so this is very appreciated. omitted butter in lieu of evoo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linden, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This recipe was easy to make and tasted great. It was one of the best quinoa recipes I've ever tried. The only change I made was using green onion, which turned our pretty nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I loved this recipe but I found the thyme a little overpowering. I followed other reviews to saute the onions at the beginning and I added some orange pepper to the onions. I tasted it to see whether it was done and loved the flavour. Once I added the thyme, garlic and parsley and tasted again though, it wasn't as good. I will definately make again but leave out the thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States