Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Loved It. I too sauted my veggies (gr & red peppers, yellow and red onions, and celery) before adding the quinoa. I also used chicken stock. Instead of adding salt, I sprinkled my portion with Maggi...didn't use the lemon juice. I will definitely make this again...and the best part, it's easy to change things up with recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is simple and delicious. I have tried several quinoa recipes but this one is the best so far. I made a few modifications based on ingredients I had on hand. Substituted chicken for veggie broth and used cilantro instead of parsley. Like other reviewers I also sautéed the onion and garlic before combining. But overall, yummy, easy, and a limited number of ingredients make this a goto quinquennial recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Pretty good... I made this recipe exactly according to instructions although I used 1 tsp of dried thyme rather than 1/2 Tbsp of fresh thyme. The flavor was a little bland for our tastes, but was helped by a few extra squeezes of fresh lemon juice, a little more salt, and a sprinkle of fresh Parmesan. One great aspect of this recipe is toasting the quinoa, which added some personality to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecorrine22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
As I have never used quinoa before, I was hoping this recipe didn't turn me off from it, and it definitely didn't! I bought Kaniwa but followed all the same directions. I sauteed the onion and garlic first and then reserved it in a separate bowl. Served this atop halved acorn squash and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I thought the dish was decent but I would definitely make adjustments to it when making it again. First, the store was out of vegetable broth and only had mushroom broth (I think it was a good addition). I roasted a red pepper in the oven and tossed it in at the end. I bought and added thyme as stated in the recipe, but I will definitely leave it out next time. I will also throw in some other vegetables as well (peas, carrots).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Too much thyme for my taste. It overpowered everything else. I'll cut the amount of thyme in half if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattiMcQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Really good! I cooked the onions and dry seasonings with the quinoa rather than tossing it in afterward. I actually ended up tossing it with roasted garlic parmesan broccoli and it turned out awesome, but it was seriously tasty by itself. I made it for my husband to bring to work with his lunches this week, but I might have to make more to eat at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Made this for a family gathering....not sure what I did wrong but nobody really cared for it. I think it has potential to be a good side but not with this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is my first time trying Quinoa. I actually really liked the texture and I'm sure I'll be experimenting with it more. I really didn't like the flavor of this recipe. I served it with a tilapia dish and this was really overpowering. I was looking for something with a brighter, fresher flavor, and given the ingredients of this recipe I thought I'd get that. Maybe it was the vegetable broth? Perhaps water would've been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
A great intro to Quinoa! This was my first time cooking quinoa. I used red quinoa and it worked great. I took some external advice and soaked the quinoa in water with a TBSP of apple cider vinegar for about 15-20 minutes before rinsing it. I also cooked the onion and garlic with the quinoa before adding the broth. DELISH! I will definitely be eating this stuff more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States