Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is my first time trying Quinoa. I actually really liked the texture and I'm sure I'll be experimenting with it more. I really didn't like the flavor of this recipe. I served it with a tilapia dish and this was really overpowering. I was looking for something with a brighter, fresher flavor, and given the ingredients of this recipe I thought I'd get that. Maybe it was the vegetable broth? Perhaps water would've been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
A great intro to Quinoa! This was my first time cooking quinoa. I used red quinoa and it worked great. I took some external advice and soaked the quinoa in water with a TBSP of apple cider vinegar for about 15-20 minutes before rinsing it. I also cooked the onion and garlic with the quinoa before adding the broth. DELISH! I will definitely be eating this stuff more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is great! My 5-year-old wanted a bite, then crawled onto my lap to continue eating it! Great introduction to quinoa for her (and me!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is a great recipe for a basic way to cook quinoa, and change up the ingredients to your taste! I used low-sodium chicken broth instead of veggie, so I didn't have to add the salt. I also cooked the onions with the quinoa, and opted for fresh grated ginger and fresh chopped basil instead of the parsley and thyme. I also added 1/2 teaspoon more of garlic (because who doesn't love garlic?!). I served it with steamed broccoli - overall an easy, quick, SUPER TASTY meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I used chicken brother because I had it on hand and no thyme because I had none. I cooked the garlic and onion with the quinoa and added the parsley and lemon at the end. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Excellent Recipe! I made it as a side dish to go with some pan fried haddock and it was the perfect addition. So much so that my kids asked if I would make it again. This will become a staple in our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
A note to all those who ask, yes you can use a rice cooker. Same proportions and everything. And a note to the Quinoa commentator, grains are seeds, just like Quinoa. I couldn't imagine not frying the onions first on this recipe, but it is a recipe that you can change however you like. I added in Pine Nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
you should mention rinsing quinoa well. It has a natural insecticide that will taste bitter if not rinsed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
My husband and I both enjoyed this. I stir fried the onions and garlic and some sweet bell pepper along with the quinoa. I used chicken stock instead of vegetable stock the cause that was what we had in the house and omitted the lemon juice. My only difficulty was that it required considerably more cooking time than the recipe stated. I checked it after 15 minutes and found that the water was only 2/3 absorbed and the grain was too crunchy for my taste. I simmered it another 10 minutes and it tasted good, but there was still considerable water in the bottom of the pan. As it happened, I let it sit covered for another 20 minutes before it was time to serve. After all that sitting, the water was all absorbed and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is the first time I've made Quinoa. I followed what others did and cooked the garlic and onion while toasting the Quinoa. I used olive oil instead of butter and it was good. I used fresh thyme and parsley and after tasting the finished product I decided it needed a bit more flavor. I fine chopped some raw onion and added it at the end like the original recipe calls for. Overall - if you don't like Quinoa, you won't like this. But if you've never tried it I would say this is a good starting point. I will make it again cooking the garlic and onion first but leaving a little onion on the side to add at the end. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Stuffing

See how to make quinoa stuffing with squash and dried fruits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States