Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Fabulous!! I added chopped baby bella mushrooms, red pepper, red onion, and jalapeno. Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
very tasty! Although i think the chopped onion should be minced or maybe fryed till soft before mixing with the Quinoa becuase the chrunchy onion texture over powered the soft Quinoa i thought. Otherwise, exellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwtxranger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
My first experience with quinoa and I wanted to try it because it is suppose to be a "power" food. I was not impressed. It is fairly expensive and is so tiny it's hard to keep track of--measuring, cooking and eating. This recipe did not have much flavor. There are better things out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is quickly becoming my go-to side dish. It's fast, inexpensive, and healthy! Plus, it's a lot easier to make than rice, I've never messed this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My second quinoa experience, and this turned out very good! I didn't have fresh parsley or thyme, so I used dried (1/3 of the amount). I didn't add the salt, either, because my broth was salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly-Blue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JillyPie87
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I cooked the onion and garlic with the quinoa to add some extra flavor. There was just a flavor that was missing from this dish. When I warm it up tomorrow I'm going to try adding some cumin to it to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyPie87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Made quinoa for the first time and thought the preperation was pretty quick and easy (browned quinoa first then added garlic/onion until translucent before adding the broth) but after it was cooked, I gave it taste and it was bitter! I then realized that most of quinoas require rinsing it first! ooops! Well besides from experiencing the bitterness, the texture was something I would have to adjus to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I give this four stars only because I cooked the onion and used dried herbs. A wonderful recipe. My husband is from Ecuador and loved it! I don't think you can get a better review than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
First time cooking quinoa...maybe I over did it...really mushy, way too garlicky and oniony (sauteed onion and garlic in butter first). Husband thought it was pretty good...but the leftovers stayed in the fridge until they had to be thrown out. Thank you anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is very nice. I started with the butter, and added the onions and spices along with the quinoa- sauteed for about 10 minutes. Quinoa never did brown. I didn't have fresh thyme so used 1 tsp of dried and a generous pinch of dried rosemary. Then I used low sodium beef broth because that is what I had on hand. I cooked it exactly 15 minutes then let it set for about 5, still covered but off of the heat. I liked it then, so I added a can of sliced mushrooms. Re: rinsing- I covered it with cold water, as I had read elsewhere, but the liquid was clear- so I just rinsed it a couple of short rinses with cold water then cooked it. I'll try it again and probably add carrots to the sautee pan for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Stuffing

See how to make quinoa stuffing with squash and dried fruits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States