Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Really good! I cooked the onions and dry seasonings with the quinoa rather than tossing it in afterward. I actually ended up tossing it with roasted garlic parmesan broccoli and it turned out awesome, but it was seriously tasty by itself. I made it for my husband to bring to work with his lunches this week, but I might have to make more to eat at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Made this for a family gathering....not sure what I did wrong but nobody really cared for it. I think it has potential to be a good side but not with this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is my first time trying Quinoa. I actually really liked the texture and I'm sure I'll be experimenting with it more. I really didn't like the flavor of this recipe. I served it with a tilapia dish and this was really overpowering. I was looking for something with a brighter, fresher flavor, and given the ingredients of this recipe I thought I'd get that. Maybe it was the vegetable broth? Perhaps water would've been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
A great intro to Quinoa! This was my first time cooking quinoa. I used red quinoa and it worked great. I took some external advice and soaked the quinoa in water with a TBSP of apple cider vinegar for about 15-20 minutes before rinsing it. I also cooked the onion and garlic with the quinoa before adding the broth. DELISH! I will definitely be eating this stuff more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is great! My 5-year-old wanted a bite, then crawled onto my lap to continue eating it! Great introduction to quinoa for her (and me!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is a great recipe for a basic way to cook quinoa, and change up the ingredients to your taste! I used low-sodium chicken broth instead of veggie, so I didn't have to add the salt. I also cooked the onions with the quinoa, and opted for fresh grated ginger and fresh chopped basil instead of the parsley and thyme. I also added 1/2 teaspoon more of garlic (because who doesn't love garlic?!). I served it with steamed broccoli - overall an easy, quick, SUPER TASTY meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I used chicken brother because I had it on hand and no thyme because I had none. I cooked the garlic and onion with the quinoa and added the parsley and lemon at the end. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Excellent Recipe! I made it as a side dish to go with some pan fried haddock and it was the perfect addition. So much so that my kids asked if I would make it again. This will become a staple in our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
A note to all those who ask, yes you can use a rice cooker. Same proportions and everything. And a note to the Quinoa commentator, grains are seeds, just like Quinoa. I couldn't imagine not frying the onions first on this recipe, but it is a recipe that you can change however you like. I added in Pine Nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
you should mention rinsing quinoa well. It has a natural insecticide that will taste bitter if not rinsed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States