Quinoa Salad with Grapefruit, Avocado, and Arugula Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Great flavor combination! Don't hesitate to try out "unrated" recipes... this one is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Les Reynolds
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
A nice fresh salad. I enjoyed the combination of flavours, and the grapefruit was a nice treat. I made a few substitutions/changes. Parsley instead of cilantro, onion instead of shallot, a couple shakes of ground cayenne instead of the serrano pepper, and mixed greens instead of the bed of arugula. I would definitely suggest adding more cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I've made this a couple of times and I really love the flavour combo. The dressing is awesome too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This one one of the best salads I ever made. I served it at a bridal luncheon and received rave reviews. The flavor combinations may sound unique, but they blend so well together. Each flavor plays off the others making this salad a really well balanced, and healthy meal. I made it a few hours prior to serving so the ingredients could settle in together. In addition I topped the salad with salted cashew nuts to add a little crunch and cut back on the olive oil to keep it lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Wow is this good!! So many fabulous flavors going on! Changes based on what I had on hand: I did not add the cilantro, cranberries or grapefruit, but did add some steamed but still crunchy - cooled broccoli. It added another green to the mixture and truly the dish was so good! I would make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Very nice salad. I did not have a serrano pepper, so skipped that part. I will try it next time. Healthy main dish for vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
WOW! One of the best salads I have made! It is so fresh, healthy and flavorful! The avacado I bought was bad so I didn't end up using it, but followed the receipe exactly with red quinoa and it was perfect. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I didn't like this one at all. I followed the recipe, exactly, and found that the 'dressing' simply didn't add very much flavor to the quinoa, at all. In addition, I was surprised to find the combination of spices in this dressing made it taste very 'asian' which I'm not particularly fond of. I was not expecting that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I was skeptical about the grapefruit, but it's one of my favorite fruits, so I gave it a try. I used parsley instead of cilantro because my husband hates cilantro and baby spinach instead of arugala because that's what I had. It was absolutely delicious! Really fresh and clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Refreshing & filling - what a unique combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by San Diego Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States