Quinoa Salad with Grapefruit, Avocado, and Arugula Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I made it 3 times already, always planning to take some to work and share with others, but every time ate it all by myself. I love the combination of flavors this has.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
X the shallots and sub oranges for grapefruit and I'd give it a 5. It's a bit too sour with grapefruit for my preferences. And the raw shallots are very spicy, even when minced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This was so amazingly fresh tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I love this salad! I have made it numerous times and taken it to potlucks, where it is always a hit. I like to add more grapefruit and toss all the arugula into the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This is such a delicious summer salad full of so many good flavors. I thought that the ingredient list seemed a bit long, but everything worked together really well. The only changes that I made was I cut back the liquid to 1-3/4 cups of chicken stock so that I didn't have to try to drain the quinoa. I also mixed everything together, I didn't serve the avocado and grapefruit on top, and I used a combo of spinach and arugula. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Loved this recipe! I adapted a bit, to make it my own, based on what I liked/had available. I cooked the quinoa in 2 c water instead of 4 c, added onion/garlic powder and cayenne pepper to the water (didn't have fresh ingredients on hand). Also, halved the amount of cilantro, upped the lime juice after tasting, and doubled the avocado. Used half arugula and half spinach. Used extra cranberries too. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Amazing. I rinsed the quinoa well (to remove the bitter taste) and tossed it in a wok to toast. Once toasted, I added the 1-3/4c water directly into the wok (eliminated the draining). Cut the oil in half and left out the avocado and cilantro (I will try it with avocado next time). So, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
A staple in our household. My teenagers ask for it weekly. I've made it many times following it exactly, and many times switching the fruit. Always a hit....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This is amazing. Lots of interesting combinations of flavors, fresh , light and yet filling. The only thing I did different was to add a whole pepper for more spice. My husband even cleaned his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Love, Love, Love. Just a fun and yummy salad with a beautiful merriment of flavors. I have made it both with and without the mint and I don't know that I even noticed so if you don't have mint on-hand don't fret. I also used Spinach once as well instead of Arugula but I do like the spiciness of Arugula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOIS O

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States