Quinoa Salad with Dried Fruit and Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Loved it. Used Red wine vinegar, 1/2 of lemon juice, cranraisins, and added fresh asparagus. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
It was my first time trying quinoa. The appearance is not great and the taste is not what I expected. Eatable but will pass next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Delicious, great reviews from my whole family. I always sub dried cranberries for raisins, but that was the only substitution I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I used 1 c. chicken broth and 2.5 c. water, craisins instead of raisins, almonds instead of pecans, and balsamic vinegar instead of white. While I made some changes, I think the base of the recipe is very solid -- as other reviewers have said, most dried fruits and nuts would probably work great in this recipe. I was hesitant about the sesame oil, but it really works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
WOAH BABY this is yummy! I love quinoa and am always looking for new ways to prepare it. Instead of raisins I added chopped dried apricots and toasted sunflower seeds/walnuts instead of pecans. I agree that 1 TBSP is plenty of sesame oil and I also found 2 TBSP of lemon juice a bit much so I added a little honey. The scallions are a must! No cilantro for me since I have a STRONG STRONG dislike of the stuff. A great recipe that is adaptable to a person's likes and whatever is hanging out in the cupboard. Thanks Natalie17!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I substituted craisins for the raisins and left out the celery. Made it for a potluck at work with rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This dish just doesn't cut it. The only change I made was dried cranberries instead of raisins since that is all I had. I was very disappointed. I then added some mandarin oranges which definitely improve the dish, but it still needs something. I think a different dressing. I am slowly eating it as it is a relatively healthy dish with high protein, but I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
used dried cranberries instead of celery.... ( I didn't have any) ... it was still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Absolutely great! My first use of Quinoa. Leftovers improved overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I had never tried quinoa before, but found that I enjoyed this very much. I enjoyed this salad several times this week. This is a very versatile recipe that can be altered to work with the ingredients you have on hand. I have skipped the celery because I didn't have it, subbed sweet onion for the green onions (didn't have those either), added dried cranberries and toasted slivered almonds instead of raisins and pecans. I've never added the sesame oil because I can't find it in my little grocery store. Of all the changes I've made, I would never, ever omit the cilantro! It really makes the dish. As another reviewer mentioned, the flavor is much, much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States