Quinoa Salad with Dried Fruit and Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I made this today to take to a potluck hosted by a friend who has celiac disease. I received lots of compliments and I really enjoyed it myself! The sesame oil makes all the difference. It would also be great to alter with different nuts, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, etc. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I substituted dried cranberries for the raisins, and toasted the pecans before adding them to bring out their flavor. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Wow, yummy! This is the best dish I have made yet with quinoa. I reduced the quinoa to 1 c. (in 2 c. chicken stock instead of water), used balsamic vinegar instead of white, 1 c. dried cranberries instead of raisins, tobasco instead of cayenne, and added about 1/2 tsp garlic powder. I also toasted the pecans before adding them. This was fabulous - definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This was awsome! great on it's own or served with salmon. I was a little afraid to put the vinigar in so I only used a teaspoon. You could barely taste it. My family also loves spice so a added a teaspoon of chyanne pepper. Wow! This is a keeper. The spicy and sweet really was a great flavor blend. Next time I may add some dried cherries for more tart and spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is a yummy salad. I omitted the sesame oil and added a bit of curry powder. I rolled it inside some butter leaf lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sycamore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Very interesting combination of flavors. I used more cilantro and extra pecans and celery for crunch. I followed others advice and used half of the sesame oil and it was plenty. My vegetarian husband scarfed it down. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I love the prominent flavor the sesame oil gives to this salad. The second flavor that comes to the palate is lemon. With the crunch of the celery, nuts, and sweetness of the fruit it makes a wonderful blend of flavors and textures. I did use craisins that I chopped, and I toasted the pecans. I had the leftovers for lunch and added grilled chicken strips and fresh blueberries. Fabulous salad that is very versatile. I will make this often. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was really good. Used rice wine vinegar instead of white. I just thought it would taste better. Also added some dried cranberries. Next time I am going to add some chopped apples. I would also like to try pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was really, really, really good! I cut down on the sesame oil and used craisins. My husband loved it as well and thought it was quite filling. Will definitely make this again and try different variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FloridaJoe
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This is a unique and delicious salad that is given a slightly nutty/smoky flavor by the sesame seeds. Hard to stop eating. As with many other recipes that call for raisins - we substituted craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaJoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States