Quinoa Salad with Dried Fruit and Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I used almonds instead of pecans and added dried apricots. I think almost any combination of fruit and nuts would work - so use what you like. The sesame is a dominant taste but one I enjoyed. I think the salad tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I love the prominent flavor the sesame oil gives to this salad. The second flavor that comes to the palate is lemon. With the crunch of the celery, nuts, and sweetness of the fruit it makes a wonderful blend of flavors and textures. I did use craisins that I chopped, and I toasted the pecans. I had the leftovers for lunch and added grilled chicken strips and fresh blueberries. Fabulous salad that is very versatile. I will make this often. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Very interesting combination of flavors. I used more cilantro and extra pecans and celery for crunch. I followed others advice and used half of the sesame oil and it was plenty. My vegetarian husband scarfed it down. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is a yummy salad. I omitted the sesame oil and added a bit of curry powder. I rolled it inside some butter leaf lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sycamore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is good, but next time I will cut the sesame oil in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This was awsome! great on it's own or served with salmon. I was a little afraid to put the vinigar in so I only used a teaspoon. You could barely taste it. My family also loves spice so a added a teaspoon of chyanne pepper. Wow! This is a keeper. The spicy and sweet really was a great flavor blend. Next time I may add some dried cherries for more tart and spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is a good basic Quinoa Salad recipe. Definitely let the quinoa cool more than 20 minutes, though. It was still pretty hot at that point otherwise. I liked the crunch and taste of the pecans, but overall the salad lacked flavor to me. I think using a toasted sesame oil instead of regular might help some. Maybe even a pinch of fresh ginger might be good. I'll need to experiment. It's got a nice mild flavor and great texture with a little sweetness. I just prefer something with a little more ooomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I kind of combined this recipe with another quinoa salad I loved. I highly recommend substituting asparagus for the celery and chopped dates for the raisins. Great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Wow, yummy! This is the best dish I have made yet with quinoa. I reduced the quinoa to 1 c. (in 2 c. chicken stock instead of water), used balsamic vinegar instead of white, 1 c. dried cranberries instead of raisins, tobasco instead of cayenne, and added about 1/2 tsp garlic powder. I also toasted the pecans before adding them. This was fabulous - definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I substituted dried cranberries for the raisins, and toasted the pecans before adding them to bring out their flavor. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States