Quinoa Salad with Dried Fruit and Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Not bad. The fundamental problem, of course, is that that Natalie17 is completely right: quinoa doesn't taste like much. This salad adds a lot of strongly-flavored ingredients to correct that -- cayenne, lemon juice, cilantro, sesame oil, etc. -- and while the end result is tasty enough, I somehow felt like it lacked cohesion. It kind of tasted like all of those good, flavorful things mixed together, and I was sort of looking for something where the ingredients combined into a unique whole. Having said that: quinoa is really, really good for you. This is a perfectly acceptable way to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was a great way to inroduce quinoa to the nonbelievers! I used dried cranberries and cherries because i had them. I also had some red quinoa so I used that and added some of the yellow or regular quinoa. It was very colorful and appetizing with the fruit and greens. I made the full recipe for 3 of us and took the rest to work the next day. Two of my co workers had it with their lunch and took some home for their family members to taste to turn them into believers of quionoa also! I pointed them to allrecipes and this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
loved this! extremely healthy, quick & easy to make & well balanced. we enjoyed the crunchiness of the pecans, the crispness of the celery, and the sweetness of the dried fruit. it was great with a grilled chicken breast with arizon heat and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Amazing!! I used the red quinoa. Wonderful nutty flavor. I used half dates and half raisins. Great taste. UPDATE: I am going to add some pineapple chunks next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
The recipe is very good and so versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
My husband and I both enjoyed this salad. I used toasted walnuts that I candied using honey. I also used a leek instead of green onions since that is what I had on hand. I agree with other users that said that sesame oil is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I really enjoyed this. I used red quinoa, golden raisins, and substituted red wine vinegar for the distilled white. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dulce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
OK, but not our favorite. Probably will not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I had a salad very much like this when lunch was catered at work recently. I added craisins, grated carrot and substituted the white vinegar for balsamic. It was good, but my family wasn't too thrilled with it even though they ate it. I suspect that it had more to do with "it's healthy" rather than the actual taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Love the addition of the toasted sesame flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States