Quinoa Salad with Dried Fruit and Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I had never tried quinoa before, but found that I enjoyed this very much. I enjoyed this salad several times this week. This is a very versatile recipe that can be altered to work with the ingredients you have on hand. I have skipped the celery because I didn't have it, subbed sweet onion for the green onions (didn't have those either), added dried cranberries and toasted slivered almonds instead of raisins and pecans. I've never added the sesame oil because I can't find it in my little grocery store. Of all the changes I've made, I would never, ever omit the cilantro! It really makes the dish. As another reviewer mentioned, the flavor is much, much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I thought it was very good. Not too popular with the family though. Good flavor. Enjoyed the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I made this following the recipe exactly. When I tasted it after mixing it up, I didn't think it tasted that good. It was kind of boring. But after it chilled in the fridge a few hours and I added the pecans and cilantro, it tasted a lot better. In fact, it was pretty darn good. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Winfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I love the lemon and the sesame oil flavors with the sweet from the fruit and the plus the crunch of the nuts and celery. I rinsed the red quinoa before cooking (and added a bit of veg stock to the water.) A couple changes to use what I had on hand - I ommitted the onions, used balsamic instead of white vinegar, used EVOO instead of veg oil, added craisins, dried apricots, and dried blueberries instead of raisins, and used both toasted almonds and pecans. I didn't have fresh cilantro so I used some frozen cubes of chopped cilantro from Trader Joe's. Fresh cilantro would have been that much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Our new favorite quinoa recipe ... change out raisins for 1/2 golden raisins and 1/2 dried cranberries. Increase pecans to 1 cup. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
wow, so good! because i didn't have some ingredients...i used apple cider vinegar instead of white, toasted walnuts instead of pecans, and added a little chopped prunes with the raisins. loooove the mix of spicy cayenne, sweet fruit, fresh cilantro, and toasty nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liushu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Excellent and refreshing salad! I added more oil, sesame and cilantro. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This is fantastic stuff! I omitted the vegetable oil and used unfiltered, natural apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar. I wasn't too sure of it the first time I tried it, but after it sat in the fridge a day or two and the flavors blended, it was really, really good! You might want to back off on the onions. The longer they sat, the stronger they became.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was great! I used a handful of Craisins & a handful of golden raisins. I didn't have pecans, so used walnuts. I substituted EVOO for the vegetable oil and unfortunately didn't have sesame oil either (but I'm sure that lends an awesome flavor). I used a key lime EVOO instead and rice wine vinegar instead of white vinegar. I love versatile dishes like this that allow easy substitutions & variations. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Tasty salad that was extremely easy to make and a bit hit at a staff potluck. I tripled the recipe. Since i made this as a last minute thought, I ended up making some substitutions/revisions: I cooked my quinoa in a microwave rice cooker (which cooks rice and quinoa perfectly!) and substituted the water with chicken stock. I didn't have green onions but added celery, red peppers, craisins, and frozen peas which I nuked slightly i the microwave before adding. I mixed the oil, vinegar, lemon juice and sesame oil in a bowl before adding it to the quinoa. After mixing everything together, I added some salt and pepper, then I let it sit over night. In the morning, I ended up adding cumin and I found that really helped to round out the flavours! Chopped cilantro, sesame seeds and toasted cashews were added just before serving. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States