Quinoa Salad with Dried Fruit and Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I love the lemon and the sesame oil flavors with the sweet from the fruit and the plus the crunch of the nuts and celery. I rinsed the red quinoa before cooking (and added a bit of veg stock to the water.) A couple changes to use what I had on hand - I ommitted the onions, used balsamic instead of white vinegar, used EVOO instead of veg oil, added craisins, dried apricots, and dried blueberries instead of raisins, and used both toasted almonds and pecans. I didn't have fresh cilantro so I used some frozen cubes of chopped cilantro from Trader Joe's. Fresh cilantro would have been that much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Our new favorite quinoa recipe ... change out raisins for 1/2 golden raisins and 1/2 dried cranberries. Increase pecans to 1 cup. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
wow, so good! because i didn't have some ingredients...i used apple cider vinegar instead of white, toasted walnuts instead of pecans, and added a little chopped prunes with the raisins. loooove the mix of spicy cayenne, sweet fruit, fresh cilantro, and toasty nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liushu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Excellent and refreshing salad! I added more oil, sesame and cilantro. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This is fantastic stuff! I omitted the vegetable oil and used unfiltered, natural apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar. I wasn't too sure of it the first time I tried it, but after it sat in the fridge a day or two and the flavors blended, it was really, really good! You might want to back off on the onions. The longer they sat, the stronger they became.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was great! I used a handful of Craisins & a handful of golden raisins. I didn't have pecans, so used walnuts. I substituted EVOO for the vegetable oil and unfortunately didn't have sesame oil either (but I'm sure that lends an awesome flavor). I used a key lime EVOO instead and rice wine vinegar instead of white vinegar. I love versatile dishes like this that allow easy substitutions & variations. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Tasty salad that was extremely easy to make and a bit hit at a staff potluck. I tripled the recipe. Since i made this as a last minute thought, I ended up making some substitutions/revisions: I cooked my quinoa in a microwave rice cooker (which cooks rice and quinoa perfectly!) and substituted the water with chicken stock. I didn't have green onions but added celery, red peppers, craisins, and frozen peas which I nuked slightly i the microwave before adding. I mixed the oil, vinegar, lemon juice and sesame oil in a bowl before adding it to the quinoa. After mixing everything together, I added some salt and pepper, then I let it sit over night. In the morning, I ended up adding cumin and I found that really helped to round out the flavours! Chopped cilantro, sesame seeds and toasted cashews were added just before serving. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made this with dried cranberries, and it was very good! Next time, I think I'll try using less sesame oil, since it was a little too strong using the given quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Unless you really, really like seasame, cut down on the seasame oil. 2T is way too much. It overpowers the entire dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bode'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very tasty dish. I used dried cranberries in place of the raisins as that was what I had on hand and I may have left out the nuts because I didn't have them. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States