Quinoa Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Quite nice! Not too sweet, and had a really interesting texture. This was my first time trying quinoa, and I'm very impressed. Will definitely make this again, perhaps with more cinnamon and vanilla for a more "comfort food" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
Easy to make, yummy and you can play with it -- use soy or rice milk for the apple juice, throw in nuts (once cooked or else they get soft), dried or cut-up fresh fruit... Quinoa looks a bit wacky when it cooks because each grain has a curled string attached to it. It has a great kinda nutty flavour though =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
OK, I am going to try this tomorrow for breakfast, but I wanted to say, quinoa has an acidic coating on it naturally. This must be rinsed off, or the quinoa will have a bitter taste. I suggesst soaking or rinsing the quinoa for about 15 minutes before using. If you soak the grain, then you can simply rinse well before cooking. I think this is probably the problem and not the apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I have been looking for a good way to enjoy quinoa and this is it...it's very good. A lot like rice pudding, actually. I was surprised how creamy it seemed without any dairy in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHNDIPITY02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I made this with all rice milk, omitted the apple juice, vanilla , lemon juice, salt and water. i added splenda, raisins and dried apricots. it took an extra 10 minutes to cook, but tasted delicious!!! I will def make it again, perhaps with bits of apple added in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was really good. As others have said, it was tart, so I added soy milk and some maple syrup to sweeten it. I also always serve rice pudding cold with maple syrup on top, so that is what I did here. Again, the maple syrup counteracted the sour taste of the raisins and lemon juice. I did feel that there were too many raisins, so next time I will cut them by half. I will also try substituting soy milk for the apple juice and subbing 1/4 cup apple juice for the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
I really like this pudding. The consistency is more of a gruel. Ever since my brother introduced me to quinoa, I have been interested in finding different ways to prepare it because it is so good for you. This is a good recipe, and not hard to make at all. I am going to find some unsweetened apple juice to make it less sweet next time, but that is just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
this is great, it's one of my standbys. i usually add some diced apples or pears and whatever dried fruit i have around. i's really good cold too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Loved this recipe! I made it for breakfast and added in walnuts & coconut flakes. Served it with banana slices on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
delicious! i used 2 1/2 ounces frozen applesauce & 1/4 cup of milk instead of the apple juice. other than that, i stuck to the recipe. also, my 7 month old baby had some w/ breast milk, frozen applesauce & a sprinkle of cinnamon. he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States