Quinoa Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
OK, I am going to try this tomorrow for breakfast, but I wanted to say, quinoa has an acidic coating on it naturally. This must be rinsed off, or the quinoa will have a bitter taste. I suggesst soaking or rinsing the quinoa for about 15 minutes before using. If you soak the grain, then you can simply rinse well before cooking. I think this is probably the problem and not the apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
Easy to make, yummy and you can play with it -- use soy or rice milk for the apple juice, throw in nuts (once cooked or else they get soft), dried or cut-up fresh fruit... Quinoa looks a bit wacky when it cooks because each grain has a curled string attached to it. It has a great kinda nutty flavour though =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Quinoa is one of my favorite foods... it's so versatile. I didn't have apple juice so I substituted orange juice. Also didn't have raisins so I substituted dried cranberries. I was spectacular! I think that I will try dried blueberries or cherries next time. Wonderful and versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corbin, Kentucky, USA
Living In: North Stonington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This is my first time trying anything made with quinoa and I was pleasantly surprised. From the sugestions of others I substituted vanilla soy milk and also added chopped apples. Also added 1 tsp almond extract and 1 tsp raw sugar. I can see this as a hot breakfast in the morning :) Has a natural nutty sweetness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I made this with all rice milk, omitted the apple juice, vanilla , lemon juice, salt and water. i added splenda, raisins and dried apricots. it took an extra 10 minutes to cook, but tasted delicious!!! I will def make it again, perhaps with bits of apple added in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Quite nice! Not too sweet, and had a really interesting texture. This was my first time trying quinoa, and I'm very impressed. Will definitely make this again, perhaps with more cinnamon and vanilla for a more "comfort food" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was really good. As others have said, it was tart, so I added soy milk and some maple syrup to sweeten it. I also always serve rice pudding cold with maple syrup on top, so that is what I did here. Again, the maple syrup counteracted the sour taste of the raisins and lemon juice. I did feel that there were too many raisins, so next time I will cut them by half. I will also try substituting soy milk for the apple juice and subbing 1/4 cup apple juice for the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This was good, although too "lemony" for my taste. I'll make it again (with much less lemon juice) and add some brown sugar for a great breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Very nice flavor and quinoa is so healthy! I added a bit of milk and honey right before serving. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I really LOVE this recipe! I tried it tonight for the first time and made it exactly to the recipe. The one thing that keeps me from rating this a 5 is that, like everyone else, I think it is a bit on the tart side with all of the lemon juice. I'm gonna try the leftovers in the morning with rice milk mixed in. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calmond
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States