Quinoa Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
A funny looking apple, cinnamon, and vanilla scented gruel of quinoa and raisins. The flavor doesn't excite me. As for texture, one would be hard pressed to call it a pudding. Incidentally, salt "to taste" was for me a quarter teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I really wanted to like this recipe, but there was just something missing. I think I expected it to be a bit creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmcormier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I made this with all rice milk, omitted the apple juice, vanilla , lemon juice, salt and water. i added splenda, raisins and dried apricots. it took an extra 10 minutes to cook, but tasted delicious!!! I will def make it again, perhaps with bits of apple added in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Quite nice! Not too sweet, and had a really interesting texture. This was my first time trying quinoa, and I'm very impressed. Will definitely make this again, perhaps with more cinnamon and vanilla for a more "comfort food" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This is my first time trying quinoa... I rinsed it VERY well but wasn't all that keen on the taste... I did adjust the recipe to what I had on hand... used vanilla soy milk, omitted raisins but added chopped banana... so maybe that was the problem. I found it very bland and had to add a touch of brown sugar and honey. I'll experiment with quinoa again... but probably not with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Maybe I got some bad quinoa or haven't come to appreciate it's flavor yet, but neither I,no anyone in my family enjoyed this recipe. I added some dried apples to this and thought it'd turn out nicely, but we just didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
OK, I am going to try this tomorrow for breakfast, but I wanted to say, quinoa has an acidic coating on it naturally. This must be rinsed off, or the quinoa will have a bitter taste. I suggesst soaking or rinsing the quinoa for about 15 minutes before using. If you soak the grain, then you can simply rinse well before cooking. I think this is probably the problem and not the apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I have been looking for a good way to enjoy quinoa and this is it...it's very good. A lot like rice pudding, actually. I was surprised how creamy it seemed without any dairy in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHNDIPITY02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Very tasty, although I also used soya milk like many of the suggestions. I love Quinoa & will make this again =) I have made this many times now. Sometimes I use orange juice instead of the apple juice and or soya milk. I also don't use the salt. I use this for a breakfast change from other hot cereals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I like quinoa so I thought I would try this. It is really nice but I think that it is sweet enough without the maple syrup. Great warm with fruit and soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States