Quinoa Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Quite nice! Not too sweet, and had a really interesting texture. This was my first time trying quinoa, and I'm very impressed. Will definitely make this again, perhaps with more cinnamon and vanilla for a more "comfort food" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This is my first time trying quinoa... I rinsed it VERY well but wasn't all that keen on the taste... I did adjust the recipe to what I had on hand... used vanilla soy milk, omitted raisins but added chopped banana... so maybe that was the problem. I found it very bland and had to add a touch of brown sugar and honey. I'll experiment with quinoa again... but probably not with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Maybe I got some bad quinoa or haven't come to appreciate it's flavor yet, but neither I,no anyone in my family enjoyed this recipe. I added some dried apples to this and thought it'd turn out nicely, but we just didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
OK, I am going to try this tomorrow for breakfast, but I wanted to say, quinoa has an acidic coating on it naturally. This must be rinsed off, or the quinoa will have a bitter taste. I suggesst soaking or rinsing the quinoa for about 15 minutes before using. If you soak the grain, then you can simply rinse well before cooking. I think this is probably the problem and not the apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I have been looking for a good way to enjoy quinoa and this is it...it's very good. A lot like rice pudding, actually. I was surprised how creamy it seemed without any dairy in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHNDIPITY02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Very tasty, although I also used soya milk like many of the suggestions. I love Quinoa & will make this again =) I have made this many times now. Sometimes I use orange juice instead of the apple juice and or soya milk. I also don't use the salt. I use this for a breakfast change from other hot cereals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I like quinoa so I thought I would try this. It is really nice but I think that it is sweet enough without the maple syrup. Great warm with fruit and soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This is my first time trying anything made with quinoa and I was pleasantly surprised. From the sugestions of others I substituted vanilla soy milk and also added chopped apples. Also added 1 tsp almond extract and 1 tsp raw sugar. I can see this as a hot breakfast in the morning :) Has a natural nutty sweetness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This recipe has great potential, but I agree that the apple juice cooks up too tart and acidic. I am going to try it with the soy or rice milk next as one member suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
this is great, it's one of my standbys. i usually add some diced apples or pears and whatever dried fruit i have around. i's really good cold too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States