Quinoa Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
As written, I found it to be inedibly sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I Like the taste, but must admit that it is very sweet. Part of this is probaly my fault, since I used 2 Cups of Pasteurized Apple Cider (since I didn't have any Apple Juice, since the Apple Cider comes in my Local CSA Share) and I used a 1/2 Cup of Golden Raisins and a 1/2 Cup of Craisins. I did add in 1 Tablespoon of Chia Seeds and 1/2 Teaspoon of Salt. It makes a hearty breakfast and will be perfect before I go skiing next week and to keep warm this upcoming week. Next time I will try using one Cup of Almond Milk and 1 Cup of the Pasteurized Apple Cider. It is a great way to Introduce yourself to Quinoa and to get use to the texture. Also, good quality Quinoa should already be rinsed and will not have an Acidic Coating on it, so it won't require pre-soaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I love this recipe! The only major change I made was to use almond milk in place of the apple juice (1. Because I didn't have any apple juice and 2. I didn't want to add any more sugar to the dish). I have made it changing nothing else and it was great. The last time I made it I added some ground cloves and chopped walnuts which only made this great recipe even better. I usually make extra and keep it in snack size bowls in the fridge for a quick meal or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I agree it was a wee bit too lemony tasting... I would just reduce the lemon juice or omit altogether. Also, I needed to add a little stevia to satisfy my sweet tooth, and adding milk helped make it a little creamier. I will try this again with some modifications, but it is a great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
was great for breakfast. I used unsweetened almond milk instead of apple juice. I also added some chopped pecans and sliced almonds. I cut the lemon juice in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I made this according to the recipe (no substitutions) and did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I really love this recipe. I was looking for an alternative to oatmeal and this is it! I've made it twice - the first time using almond milk instead of apple juice and it was lovely. The second time I also omitted the lemon juice and added a teaspoon of nutmeg. When I'm eating a bowl, I also add a teaspoon of agave nectar over the top. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was super easy and very good. I combined advice from other reviewers and cooked the quinoa in 1 c. water, 1 c. apple juice. Then instead of adding more apple juice, I added 1 c. almond milk. If you want a more soupy consistency, add 2 c. liquid, but by adding one cup it made the consistency more like a hearty oatmeal than a pudding. I also added 3/4 c. dried cranberries instead of 1 c. raisins and only 2 tsp. fresh lemon juice. I served with sliced almonds on top, and it made a wholesome, not overly sweet breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Mmmm... nutty and delicious!! I always soak the quinoa for about 10-15 minutes, then rinse thoroughly before proceeding with the recipe. Beyond that, I make it pretty much as written with two variations to suit my personal taste. First, even though I love raisins, 1 cup is a bit much for me, so I only add 1/2 cup. And second, I only add 1 teaspoon lemon juice and for me, it was plenty. Some have said they leave the salt out, but be aware that a dash of salt brings out the sweet in recipes, so go ahead and throw it in. It's just a tiny bit and will make a big difference in the finished product. My husband likes this with dried cranberries in place of the raisins and it's equally delicious that way! Once I had dried cherries on hand and used them in place of the raisins and added almond extract -- fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States