Quinoa Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I really love this recipe. I was looking for an alternative to oatmeal and this is it! I've made it twice - the first time using almond milk instead of apple juice and it was lovely. The second time I also omitted the lemon juice and added a teaspoon of nutmeg. When I'm eating a bowl, I also add a teaspoon of agave nectar over the top. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was super easy and very good. I combined advice from other reviewers and cooked the quinoa in 1 c. water, 1 c. apple juice. Then instead of adding more apple juice, I added 1 c. almond milk. If you want a more soupy consistency, add 2 c. liquid, but by adding one cup it made the consistency more like a hearty oatmeal than a pudding. I also added 3/4 c. dried cranberries instead of 1 c. raisins and only 2 tsp. fresh lemon juice. I served with sliced almonds on top, and it made a wholesome, not overly sweet breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Mmmm... nutty and delicious!! I always soak the quinoa for about 10-15 minutes, then rinse thoroughly before proceeding with the recipe. Beyond that, I make it pretty much as written with two variations to suit my personal taste. First, even though I love raisins, 1 cup is a bit much for me, so I only add 1/2 cup. And second, I only add 1 teaspoon lemon juice and for me, it was plenty. Some have said they leave the salt out, but be aware that a dash of salt brings out the sweet in recipes, so go ahead and throw it in. It's just a tiny bit and will make a big difference in the finished product. My husband likes this with dried cranberries in place of the raisins and it's equally delicious that way! Once I had dried cherries on hand and used them in place of the raisins and added almond extract -- fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I was hoping that this would be an alternative to rice pudding. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
It is good but I would use half the apple juice and lemon juice and add almond milk. It is much creamier that way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Panama, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Super good! I left out the raisins just because I don't care for them and we topped ours with bananas, walnuts, and homemade syrup! Possablities are endless and its so healthy for you =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by Francine Lizotte
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Very, very nice! I followed the advice of "laurieinok" and soaked the seeds for 15 minutes and then I rinsed thoroughly. I cooked this recipe almost the same except I mixed half-and-half dry raisins and dry cranberries and didn't add any salt (enough sodium don't need to add more). I served it with sliced strawberries and sliced bananas, topped with maple syrup. BTW, we, my husband and I, tried a bite with coconut syrup (good but not perfect), another bite with soy milk and brown sugar (very good but not as good as with maple syrup). Have fun, this recipe is so versatile, healthy and yummy! Thank you Graycat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francine Lizotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Per other reviewers, I cooked quinoa in less water than original recipe called for (1 1/4 cups, not 1 3/4 cups), subbed cilantro for parsley, added 1/2 finely chopped red onion, and then added a combined lime juice, olive oil cumin dressing, to taste (less than original recipe). Overall very yummy and will make again, adding diced cucumber and more tomato. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjkcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Only used 1/2 the lemon juice called for after reading a few reviews. Was good; not rice pudding, but a good substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Easter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I made this for dessert when my grandparents came over for dinner. Some of us are gluten free, some fat free, some dairy free, some vegetarian, and all try to be sugar free. This was a delicious dessert that everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States