Quinoa Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is a great way to get protein in the morning because it's disguised as carbs! I noticed that some people had trouble with this recipe and I think it helps immensely to COVER the saucepan. I always put a lid on when I'm cooking quinoa, so that's what I did with this recipe. The quinoa was done after about 20 minutes, I then uncovered it and let the extra liquid cook off until I had my desired consistency. Came out perfect! I recently switched to (unsweetened) almond milk so I was excited to see a recipe that called for it. Loved the cinnamon and vanilla. I added some raisins and craisins and sprinkled some extra brown sugar on top. Yum! ****Update: I now make this with only 1 cup of milk and no water. Cover and simmer, and it only takes about 10-15 min. to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This is SOOOOO good! For health reasons, I have to eat tons of protien every day, and I get sick of stuffing my face with meat all day. This was a very refreshing breakfast, very tasty and different! It's in the 80s here already but this winter, this will be a staple! Next time I'll use less liquid, I like my porridge thick enough to stand a spoon up in it. I added chopped walnuts and dried fruit and a little extra cinnamon. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This recipe has way too much liquid, maybe that's why several people thought theirs wasn't cooked in the time specified. If you're expecting this recipe to soak up all the liquid like oatmeal does, you'll be disappointed. The quinoa I bought (Costco) is pre-rinsed, and the cooking instructions on it are to use 1 part quinoa to 2 parts liquid, brown it in butter or oil, then add liquid, bring to boil, reduce heat and simmer for 15 min. I have substituted several different liquids, and it always turns out perfect and fluffy like rice. So, I still gave this 3 stars, because after I altered the liquid amounts to 1/2 c water and 1/2 c almond milk, it did turn out quite nice. I like it with chopped almonds and dried cranberries mixed in at the end for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I made this for my family, as I'm a big "You are what you eat" fan, and this is one of the ingredients suggested by Gillian. I was surprised that such a healthy ingredient tasted good. I won't be a fan of quinoa over night, but this definitely opened my mind to using quinoa in some other recipes. When I followed the direction, I found that the quinoa was still a bit crunchy after it was prepared. I don't know if this is common or not, but the next time I make it, I think I will cook it a bit longer. Also, if you are feeding other people with this recipe, it comes out closer to two and a half (very filling) servings. I would suggest that you make this in conjunction with blueberry muffins as the combination of flavors was delicious. Thanks for submitting the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
this was really really good. it had the perfect amount of sweetness. it had a tiny bit of a crunch, but it wasnt really crunchy like it sounded like everyone else's was. i cooked it longer than 25 minutes only because i wanted it to be thicker. i cooked it at a very low simmer for 25 minutes, and the texture was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. It's a great way to start the day. I am an oatmeal fan and find this cereal to be lighter than oatmeal yet just as filling. I add cinnamon, nutmeg, craisens, and vanilla, and cook it in soy milk. Once cooked, I add a scoop of ground flaxseed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was really good and an interesting new way to use quinoa but some changes were needed in the cooking method. I did not add the water and just used 1.5 cups soy milk since that seemed like way too much liquid from my previous experiences with quinoa (figured I could add the water later if it was needed- it wasn't). I also covered the pan while it was simmering to help with water absorption. After the quinoa was cooked through I took off the lid and simmered until it reached the consistency I wanted. I topped with a bit more brown sugar and some walnuts. This made a delicious breakfast for two (it was not three servings for us) and I think we both could have eaten a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was good but not out of this world. I used regular milk as I only had that, and decreased it to about 1/2 c as others suggested. It didn't need the full 25 min, but it probably took about 20. I omited the salt as well. This only made 2 portions, and that is coming from a light eater. I will make it again but I think I want to play around with it to make it REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This was great! What a great change for breakfast! Made exactly as stated except for I added a tad less water. Thanks! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was a delicious and very healthy breakfast! I used regular cows milk, because I didn't have almond. I also used organic raw brown sugar (sucanat) instead of regular. I cut it down to one serving size; it wasn't really enough, though! Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States