Quinoa Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This recipe has way too much liquid, maybe that's why several people thought theirs wasn't cooked in the time specified. If you're expecting this recipe to soak up all the liquid like oatmeal does, you'll be disappointed. The quinoa I bought (Costco) is pre-rinsed, and the cooking instructions on it are to use 1 part quinoa to 2 parts liquid, brown it in butter or oil, then add liquid, bring to boil, reduce heat and simmer for 15 min. I have substituted several different liquids, and it always turns out perfect and fluffy like rice. So, I still gave this 3 stars, because after I altered the liquid amounts to 1/2 c water and 1/2 c almond milk, it did turn out quite nice. I like it with chopped almonds and dried cranberries mixed in at the end for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This was REALLY good! I used plain unsweetened soy milk because I ran out of almond milk and my kids ate every last bite. Next time I will use almond milk to see which I like better. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Martinez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Loved this! The only change I made was to use regular milk. It was such a nice change for breakfast. Next time I will add raisins or craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is a great way to get protein in the morning because it's disguised as carbs! I noticed that some people had trouble with this recipe and I think it helps immensely to COVER the saucepan. I always put a lid on when I'm cooking quinoa, so that's what I did with this recipe. The quinoa was done after about 20 minutes, I then uncovered it and let the extra liquid cook off until I had my desired consistency. Came out perfect! I recently switched to (unsweetened) almond milk so I was excited to see a recipe that called for it. Loved the cinnamon and vanilla. I added some raisins and craisins and sprinkled some extra brown sugar on top. Yum! ****Update: I now make this with only 1 cup of milk and no water. Cover and simmer, and it only takes about 10-15 min. to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I was a little apprehensive to try this due to some of the not-so-glowing reviews, but I finally did and am very happy I did! Only change was to use regular skim milk, and the cooking time was off - I had to simmer for about another 20 minutes, adding about an additional 1/4 cup of water to keep from burning, but the end result was excellent! Served with some fresh blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This recipe looked so promising. I love quinoa, which I eat a few times a week, and like almond milk as well, often using it in porridge. But ugh, this recipe is revolting. Maybe the original poster used unsweetened almond milk, and mine was sweetened (the only kind you can buy in the UK, to my knowledge). But it was so sickly sweet that I couldn't eat it. Plus the texture and colour were offputting too. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I love quinoa but had never considered using it in a sweet breakfast dish before seeing this recipe! As noted in some other reviews this does take forevvver to cook which sucked because my guest and I were super hungry, but with the addition of some cinnamon cereal and blueberry jam, it was worth the wait. Really delicious, filling, and satisfying! My only suggestion would be to cook it at a higher temperature for a shorter amount of time BUT be sure to continue stirring it the whole time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. It's a great way to start the day. I am an oatmeal fan and find this cereal to be lighter than oatmeal yet just as filling. I add cinnamon, nutmeg, craisens, and vanilla, and cook it in soy milk. Once cooked, I add a scoop of ground flaxseed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was a delicious and very healthy breakfast! I used regular cows milk, because I didn't have almond. I also used organic raw brown sugar (sucanat) instead of regular. I cut it down to one serving size; it wasn't really enough, though! Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I followed the instructions as directed, but used red quinoa, raw milk and raw honey instead of the plain quinoa, almond milk and brown sugar. Becuae I used a darker quinoa it was difficult to tell when it was toasted. To me it tasted slightly burnt but having never had quinoa before I don't know if that was its natural taste. My main problem is it would not break down and thicken. I cooked it for an hour, the milk boiled right down and the grains became tender but the texture was still seeds floating in milk. After an hour I tried getting creative, boiling it again, microwaving it, squashing it with a spoon and yelling at it. After an hour and a half I gave up and ate as is. It was very tasty but never got to the consistency of porridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States