Quinoa Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P24FERGUS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Did not have good flavor and took too long to cook. I have made something similar in the crockpot over night and I think I like the flavor better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Thanks for this great recipe! I substituted stevia drops for the brown sugar and it still was a fabulous, creative, satisfying start to my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Haley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
A bit too crunchy for my liking, even though I did not expect this to be smooth. The taste was ok though. It was my second time with quinoa and I think I'll explore other ways to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smilelovely
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
It's pretty good. I took the advice of another poster and used 1/2 c water and 1/2 c milk (used vanilla almond milk). No sugar added since I haven't got any and I was making this in my dorm. The quinoa cooked well but was nothing like porridge afterward. I mixed it with blackberries to get some sweetness in and added a tiny bit more milk to it for another bit of sweetness. I'll probably make this again and try using a bit more liquid from the start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was good but not out of this world. I used regular milk as I only had that, and decreased it to about 1/2 c as others suggested. It didn't need the full 25 min, but it probably took about 20. I omited the salt as well. This only made 2 portions, and that is coming from a light eater. I will make it again but I think I want to play around with it to make it REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Maybe it's just quinoa I don't like but I couldn't get this stuff to taste good. Too sweet, too bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
My daughter made this for my b-day breakfast and I thought it was wonderful. We used soymilk but otherwise followed the recipe. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Made in a ricecooker, with slightly less liquid (only 1 1/2 cups total). Used soy milk instead of almond milk, and 1 1/2 tbsps agave nectar instead of the brown sugar. Turned out perfect. Exactly like the porridge served on the Inca Trail in Peru. Great alternative to porridge oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Very excellent! This is my 2nd time cooking with Quinoa and I really liked this! I added a lot more cinnamon, used cows milk, and did not add as much water. I also added raisins and it tasted fabulous. I think I've found an alternative to salty breakfast sandwiches on Sunday morning before church!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States