Quinoa Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Did not have good flavor and took too long to cook. I have made something similar in the crockpot over night and I think I like the flavor better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Thanks for this great recipe! I substituted stevia drops for the brown sugar and it still was a fabulous, creative, satisfying start to my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Haley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
A bit too crunchy for my liking, even though I did not expect this to be smooth. The taste was ok though. It was my second time with quinoa and I think I'll explore other ways to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smilelovely
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
It's pretty good. I took the advice of another poster and used 1/2 c water and 1/2 c milk (used vanilla almond milk). No sugar added since I haven't got any and I was making this in my dorm. The quinoa cooked well but was nothing like porridge afterward. I mixed it with blackberries to get some sweetness in and added a tiny bit more milk to it for another bit of sweetness. I'll probably make this again and try using a bit more liquid from the start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was good but not out of this world. I used regular milk as I only had that, and decreased it to about 1/2 c as others suggested. It didn't need the full 25 min, but it probably took about 20. I omited the salt as well. This only made 2 portions, and that is coming from a light eater. I will make it again but I think I want to play around with it to make it REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Maybe it's just quinoa I don't like but I couldn't get this stuff to taste good. Too sweet, too bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
My daughter made this for my b-day breakfast and I thought it was wonderful. We used soymilk but otherwise followed the recipe. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Made in a ricecooker, with slightly less liquid (only 1 1/2 cups total). Used soy milk instead of almond milk, and 1 1/2 tbsps agave nectar instead of the brown sugar. Turned out perfect. Exactly like the porridge served on the Inca Trail in Peru. Great alternative to porridge oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Very excellent! This is my 2nd time cooking with Quinoa and I really liked this! I added a lot more cinnamon, used cows milk, and did not add as much water. I also added raisins and it tasted fabulous. I think I've found an alternative to salty breakfast sandwiches on Sunday morning before church!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This recipe has way too much liquid, maybe that's why several people thought theirs wasn't cooked in the time specified. If you're expecting this recipe to soak up all the liquid like oatmeal does, you'll be disappointed. The quinoa I bought (Costco) is pre-rinsed, and the cooking instructions on it are to use 1 part quinoa to 2 parts liquid, brown it in butter or oil, then add liquid, bring to boil, reduce heat and simmer for 15 min. I have substituted several different liquids, and it always turns out perfect and fluffy like rice. So, I still gave this 3 stars, because after I altered the liquid amounts to 1/2 c water and 1/2 c almond milk, it did turn out quite nice. I like it with chopped almonds and dried cranberries mixed in at the end for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States