Quinoa Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Love this recipe, easy to make and oh so filling. I did reduce the volume of almond milk and water to half a cup each. It came out lovely and fluffy. Superb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Very good high protein breakfast recipe. The last 30 seconds of cooking I added what I had on hand, raw almonds, golden raisins, dried cranberries and fresh blueberries. I mixed in 2 TBS of ground flax just before serving. I've made lots of recipes using quinoa and knew this wasn't meant to come out light and fluffy like regular dishes. I took it off the heat sooner than 25 minutes while it was still a little watery, and it thickened upon standing. It was perfect. My husband and I thought this was a bit too sweet though. Next time I will leave out the brown sugar and we can stir our own amounts to taste, if needed after serving. This recipe is a keeper and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Delicious! However, it was very sweet for me. I made a double batch and tweaked it a little. I used 2 cups quinoa + 1 cup unsweetened almond milk and no water (except for a few tsp when it started to get too thick). Used about 1.5 tbsp brown sugar. Covered with a lid. Added cranberries at the end. Either it was the almond milk or brown sugar and the cranberries that made it too sweet. I will use the almond milk + water next time to see if that makes a difference. If you want it healthier, use less sugar. Just a side note - I've only made quinoa twice now but I think this time the quinoa didn't plump up as much as it did when I made it with broth. P.S. I didn't burn the pan! I will certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by awebbchic
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I am always looking for healthy meal options. I was excited when I came across this one because quinoa is a great alternative to many grains. I made this the first time exactly as the recipe stated. It was good but the nutty flavor was a bit overwhelming for me. So, the second time I used half vanilla soy milk and half almond milk. I also used 1 tablespoon of cinnamon instead of 1/4 tsp. I topped the porridge with some walnuts and raisins. It was just right! I make a full batch and divide it into 1 cup servings. I refrigerate the second serving and reheat it the next morning with a little added soy milk and it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awebbchic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was my first attempt at quinoa for breakfast and it was pretty good. A little sweet for our taste so next time I will use less sugar. I keep a variety of milk in the house (organic cow, almond and soy)so I will try different combinations just to keep it interesting. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I added an additional 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon and omitted the vanilla. I also used 1 cup milk, no water. Next time I will reduce the brown sugar a bit as it was a tad sweet. Overall very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
It is a great substitute to oatmeal. A little brown sugar and almond breeze finished it off nicely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Turned out perfect. I didn't add sugar though as am avoiding sugar at the moment. I rinsed the quinoa as per packet instructions, then put on a hot pan with some cinnamon, heated and stirred for about 4 mins until the excess water had evapourated and the quinoa was just about sticking to the pan. I stuck to the 2:1 ratio but used mostly almond milk and a small bit of water, brought it to the boil then turned to lowest heat, and left UNCOVERED to simmer. After 15 mins nearly all the water was gone so I snuck a taste and it was still very crunchy and I was busy with something else so I took it off the heat and covered it and just left it there for about 5 mins. I tasted again, and it was perfect. Just a tiny crunch but with a lovely sticky/stodgy consistency of porridge which I love but this is a great healthier alternative. I added a tiny bit of yoghurt and berry smoothie I had just made up, to sweeten. Lovely, and very filling. I would say the result just varies by quality of quinoa you have and the heat of your cooker top and if it doesn't work first time, try again, it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rotunda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Quinoa is known as a superfood so I was trying to find a recipe for quinoa for breakfast and this recipe is just what I was looking for! I left out the brown sugar and added it on top after it was cooked. It made two servings so I put one in the fridge to heat up for tomorrow's breakfast. Delicious and so healthy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Delicious recipe. I followed one other reviewer's recommendation and used 1 cup almond milk (vanilla, unsweetened). After the quinoa boiled I reduced to a simmer and covered until cooked (about 20 minutes). I also added some raisins after cooking and it was a delicious breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States