Quinoa Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Delicious! However, it was very sweet for me. I made a double batch and tweaked it a little. I used 2 cups quinoa + 1 cup unsweetened almond milk and no water (except for a few tsp when it started to get too thick). Used about 1.5 tbsp brown sugar. Covered with a lid. Added cranberries at the end. Either it was the almond milk or brown sugar and the cranberries that made it too sweet. I will use the almond milk + water next time to see if that makes a difference. If you want it healthier, use less sugar. Just a side note - I've only made quinoa twice now but I think this time the quinoa didn't plump up as much as it did when I made it with broth. P.S. I didn't burn the pan! I will certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by awebbchic
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I am always looking for healthy meal options. I was excited when I came across this one because quinoa is a great alternative to many grains. I made this the first time exactly as the recipe stated. It was good but the nutty flavor was a bit overwhelming for me. So, the second time I used half vanilla soy milk and half almond milk. I also used 1 tablespoon of cinnamon instead of 1/4 tsp. I topped the porridge with some walnuts and raisins. It was just right! I make a full batch and divide it into 1 cup servings. I refrigerate the second serving and reheat it the next morning with a little added soy milk and it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awebbchic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was my first attempt at quinoa for breakfast and it was pretty good. A little sweet for our taste so next time I will use less sugar. I keep a variety of milk in the house (organic cow, almond and soy)so I will try different combinations just to keep it interesting. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I added an additional 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon and omitted the vanilla. I also used 1 cup milk, no water. Next time I will reduce the brown sugar a bit as it was a tad sweet. Overall very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
It is a great substitute to oatmeal. A little brown sugar and almond breeze finished it off nicely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Turned out perfect. I didn't add sugar though as am avoiding sugar at the moment. I rinsed the quinoa as per packet instructions, then put on a hot pan with some cinnamon, heated and stirred for about 4 mins until the excess water had evapourated and the quinoa was just about sticking to the pan. I stuck to the 2:1 ratio but used mostly almond milk and a small bit of water, brought it to the boil then turned to lowest heat, and left UNCOVERED to simmer. After 15 mins nearly all the water was gone so I snuck a taste and it was still very crunchy and I was busy with something else so I took it off the heat and covered it and just left it there for about 5 mins. I tasted again, and it was perfect. Just a tiny crunch but with a lovely sticky/stodgy consistency of porridge which I love but this is a great healthier alternative. I added a tiny bit of yoghurt and berry smoothie I had just made up, to sweeten. Lovely, and very filling. I would say the result just varies by quality of quinoa you have and the heat of your cooker top and if it doesn't work first time, try again, it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rotunda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Quinoa is known as a superfood so I was trying to find a recipe for quinoa for breakfast and this recipe is just what I was looking for! I left out the brown sugar and added it on top after it was cooked. It made two servings so I put one in the fridge to heat up for tomorrow's breakfast. Delicious and so healthy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Delicious recipe. I followed one other reviewer's recommendation and used 1 cup almond milk (vanilla, unsweetened). After the quinoa boiled I reduced to a simmer and covered until cooked (about 20 minutes). I also added some raisins after cooking and it was a delicious breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This was very tasty! I have just been introduced to quinoa, and this is my first breakfast use of it. It has just the right amount of sweetness and is quite filling. I made it with regular milk, since that's what i had, but i added some almond extract. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This recipe was fantastic with just a few minor adjustments; first of all, I used unsweetened chocolate almond milk since that's what I had on hand and it was delicious! Also, I didn't bother with water and used almond milk as my liquid exclusively, sticking to the quinoa package's recommended 2:1 ratio of liquid to grain instead of what's written here and it was absolutely perfect. This is a great, delicious, healthy breakfast if you have the time to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States