Quinoa Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was a delicious and very healthy breakfast! I used regular cows milk, because I didn't have almond. I also used organic raw brown sugar (sucanat) instead of regular. I cut it down to one serving size; it wasn't really enough, though! Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. It's a great way to start the day. I am an oatmeal fan and find this cereal to be lighter than oatmeal yet just as filling. I add cinnamon, nutmeg, craisens, and vanilla, and cook it in soy milk. Once cooked, I add a scoop of ground flaxseed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I thought this was a terrific quinoa recipe. I bought a large bag at Costco's so I'm always looking for ways to use it. I made it just as written except for using skim milk and it came out fine. I split it into 3 1/2-cup servings to reheat during the week. I will try adding the raisins, craisins and/or nuts when I have it next. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This was great! What a great change for breakfast! Made exactly as stated except for I added a tad less water. Thanks! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I was a little apprehensive to try this due to some of the not-so-glowing reviews, but I finally did and am very happy I did! Only change was to use regular skim milk, and the cooking time was off - I had to simmer for about another 20 minutes, adding about an additional 1/4 cup of water to keep from burning, but the end result was excellent! Served with some fresh blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Loved this! The only change I made was to use regular milk. It was such a nice change for breakfast. Next time I will add raisins or craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This was REALLY good! I used plain unsweetened soy milk because I ran out of almond milk and my kids ate every last bite. Next time I will use almond milk to see which I like better. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Martinez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
My daughter made this for my b-day breakfast and I thought it was wonderful. We used soymilk but otherwise followed the recipe. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is really a delicious healthy recipe! It takes a few minutes to do but is well worth it! You can just let it cook as you do other things around and occassionally check on it and stir it. I do it with a little maple syrup in place of the brown sugar. I've also started adding some nuts on top that I've roasted in my oven for 7-8 min. on 350. It's really good and satisfying knowing that it's also healthy and high protein. It's a staple breakfast recipe for me now! Thanks for shareing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
First dish I have made using Quinoa and it turned out great! I added a little more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States